This question is particularly about "Umpire's Call". The linked question doesn't provide any information about umpire call.

When a decision is reviewed in the Decision Review System (DRS) we can sometimes see

Wickets Hitting: Umpires Call

What does Umpire's Call actually mean and in which situation this will be given?

  • The comments on the accepted answer to the duplicate explicitly mention "umpire's call".
    – Philip Kendall
    Mar 31, 2015 at 14:00
  • 2
    I think this is not a duplicate. While the linked question does mention umpire's call, the question is much more specific (to just one kind of review) and is only tangentially related to the specific issue asked about here. I think it doesn't hurt at all to have this question on the site separately. It's also a higher quality question in my mind than the duplicate.
    – Joe
    Apr 1, 2015 at 15:01
  • This is not a duplicate question. I think this question easily supercedes or is a superset of the linked question. If anything, the linked question should be marked as the duplicate of this question.
    – amsquareb
    Apr 17, 2019 at 22:39

1 Answer 1


"Umpires Call" is a way of saying the decision made by the on-field should stand.

The rules of the referral system say that there needs to be a clear mistake by the on-field umpire to reverse the decision. "Umpires Call" is a way of saying that there isn't a CLEAR mistake, and therefore the decision should stand.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.