Are there any rules preventing a batsman from facing a delivery and positioning himself behind the stumps instead of in front?


2 Answers 2


I don't believe there is anything in the Laws of Cricket which specify where a batsman must stand for a ball to be allowed. However, there is the well known "Law of Don't Be Completely Totally and Utterly Stupid" - I fail to see any possible advantage that a batsman could gain from standing behind the stumps.

  • 1
    haha awesome answer. I've been trying it in the nets, and believe it or not it works. If the bowler doesn't bowl on the stumps (and is under pressure to do so) you essentially have a free shot (mainly through point, a cut shot, or even a reverse hook shot. If the bowler puts delivery on the stumps, its easy to block by putting your bat in front of the stumps.
    – Cookie
    Apr 6, 2015 at 23:37
  • 3
    That may work against amateurs. I wouldn't recommend trying it against Mitchell Johnson.
    – Philip Kendall
    Apr 7, 2015 at 5:47
  • More realistically, this tactic is going to fail as soon as you get a bowler who can bowl on the stumps reliably - if your only tactic is "defend", you're going to lose.
    – Philip Kendall
    Apr 7, 2015 at 8:52
  • I'll try it in my next international see what happens.
    – Cookie
    Apr 8, 2015 at 5:02

Fairly high risk of being given out obstructing the field, I'd think, since he'd be in the wicket-keeper's way.

  • 1
    Interesting thought. I can't see anything in the Laws which specifies what happens if a batsman and a fielder want to stand in the same place - the batsman would obviously get priority for the usual place in front of the stumps, but what happens if he wants to stand at square leg or something insane like that?
    – Philip Kendall
    Sep 1, 2015 at 10:19
  • This would probably also be handled under Law 42, which does discuss actions not covered by the Laws . There are plenty of reasons why having a batsman in an odd position would be a bad idea - likely to get in the way of fielding, making it more difficult to judge runouts, stuff like that. But it's not automatically bad - remember that an injured batsman with a runner occupies a similar position off the pitch. You'd have to consider each situation on its merits.
    – zaump
    Sep 1, 2015 at 12:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.