Questions tagged [baseball]

Questions about the sport of baseball in general. For the American professional baseball league, see [mlb]. Note that autograph identification questions ("Who signed this baseball?") are OFF-TOPIC and will be closed.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-1
votes
0answers
9 views

I cant identify this signature [on hold]

I dont remember who's signature this is
-2
votes
0answers
16 views

I found this baseball need help identifying [on hold]

I found this baseball wrapped in plastic with a Mike Schmidt autographed baseball bat but I’m not having any luck finding who it belongs to.
-1
votes
0answers
9 views

Multiple signatures on a baseball [on hold]

Hello, I am submitting this picture of this signed baseball. It does have several signatures, and. I am hoping on getting some answers to who the signatures may be.
1
vote
1answer
35 views

When a batter reaches second safely after a rundown, does the batter get credited with a single or a double?

A batter hit a single toward right field, but instead of stopping at first, he rounded the base and - intentionally - caused a rundown (the player told me after the game he did this intentionally). He ...
-2
votes
0answers
16 views

Can anyone help me identify this autograph? [closed]

This is an autograph ball my son won at a woodpeckers game, an Astros affiliate. The girl said it was Jose Altuve but it doesn’t look exactly like it to me. It is from the Houston Astros, I’m ...
-2
votes
0answers
22 views

Please Help me ID Baseball Autograph from the Early 1990s [closed]

I got this autographed ball at The Ballpark at Arlington Texas sometime in the early 1990s. A shipping vendor trying to sell me his services got it signed at the game and told me that the player would ...
1
vote
1answer
38 views

If a runner reaches second on an error and then scores the next play, does that count as an earned run against the pitcher?

Example: A batter hits a single to the outfield, it is bobbled, so the batter can now reach second. The next batter is up and scores the runner on second. Since that runner reached second on an error ...
1
vote
1answer
53 views

Runner on third base catches a soft line drive

I just had this happen last night at a 14u game. We were up 12 to 1 at the time, so it didn't end up being a big deal. The runner at third base was clearly in foul territory and caught a soft line ...
0
votes
1answer
41 views

Can runners advance?

If bases are loaded, no outs, and the runner on second gets hit by a batted ball, advancing to third, he is out. But do the runners on first and third get to advance?
1
vote
1answer
27 views

Ground Rule Double?

Batter hits ball high off CF wall. Ball takes one bounce back toward chasing CFer whose foot accidentally comes in contact with ball that then goes over the wall. Does runner on first only get third ...
0
votes
2answers
39 views

Little League Baseball Question

Question on a game I watched: Ages 8-11 2 Outs, runner on 3rd and 1st. Coach wouldn't let the runner on 1st steal- Why not? It didn't make any sense to me; as it would have put 2 in scoring position ...
-1
votes
1answer
65 views

Why don't athletes who don't want their autographs resold draw a shape to designate it's not for resale? [closed]

Why don't athletes who don't want their autographs resold draw a shape to designate it's not for resale? On their website they list what the shape is and then perhaps an independent authenticator ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

does the run count

scenario: one out, runners on first and third. Fly to deep centre; fielder makes an exceptional catch for second out, and makes a huge throw to double up the runner from first who had gone too far, ...
1
vote
0answers
26 views

A forfeited game in baseball [closed]

Does a forfeited baseball game count as a game played. scenario is Season has not started and one of the teams dropped. The league counted all of the games as wins and scored them 1-0 for the opposing ...
0
votes
0answers
17 views

Uncommon Play : Does the run count [duplicate]

This is on the third out. The batter hits a slow chopper back to the pitcher. The pitcher instead of throwing to first runs down the batter to tag him and the runner stops in the baseline. The runner ...
0
votes
1answer
36 views

Pinch hitter for pitcher

In today’s Nats/Braves game (5/29/19), the Nat’s pitcher came up in the top of the first. Could the Nats have put in a pinch hitter for the pitcher and still used him in the bottom of the inning?
0
votes
1answer
35 views

Why does the MLB not have awards such as MVP and Cy Young for both AL and NL together?

The MLB has awards for each league, such as AL MVP and NL MVP, or AL Cy Young and NL Cy Young, but why is there no MLB MVP or MLB Cy Young, for the best out of both leagues (in a similar way to the ...
0
votes
1answer
29 views

Has an MLB player ever won an MVP award without going to that year's All-Star game?

Has it ever happened that a player in the MLB ever won the AL or NL MVP award but didn't get elected as an All-Star that year? If so then how often does it happen? If they didn't go to the game ...
1
vote
2answers
111 views

Can the home team win an extra-inning baseball game by more than 1 run?

In baseball, I'm wondering how home teams are awarded winning runs. If the visiting team in, say, Inning 10, plates 5 runs, then the home team has the bottom of that inning to match or exceed this ...
0
votes
1answer
59 views

Can an umpire overturn a call in little league?

We had a weird call overturned after a play in a little league game 9-10 years old, Cal Ripken rules. We had a runner score a run, everything seemed normal. The pitcher got the ball back, our on ...
1
vote
1answer
33 views

Can an out be considered a force out if it was called for an illegal (diving) slide and the runner was forced to reach the base?

In a youth game with bases loaded and two outs a ground ball was hit to the pitcher, who made a throw to third base. The throw was low and the third baseman did not field the ball cleanly, so the ...
0
votes
2answers
49 views

Does the MLB website contain win-loss stats? If so, how can I examine win-loss stats on the MLB website?

I am looking for win and loss stats on the MLB website. I've browsed to the MLB website > Stats > Team, but I did not find win-loss stats. What am I missing?
0
votes
0answers
30 views

How is “On the Field” intended to be used?

Before I go into the details here is the premise of the argument if someone says "do you want to take an infield/outfield on the field?" during warmups before a game where would you go? The two ...
2
votes
2answers
95 views

why would a batter awarded a base on balls refuse to advance to first base?

per Official Rules, a batter awarded a base on balls may refuse to advance to first base. why would a batter do that? did such a case happen in MLB history?
-1
votes
1answer
66 views

If a forced runner is tagged for the 3rd out, do any runs count? [duplicate]

Bases loaded with 2 outs. Ball is hit to shortstop. SS tags runner attempting to advance to 3rd. Does the run count from 3rd base
0
votes
1answer
138 views

MLB rules for blown save and win by same pitcher

In the Major League Baseball, does a relief pitcher who blows the save in the top of the 9th inning also get credit for the win when his team comes back in bottom of the 9th for the win?
0
votes
1answer
31 views

Is it still a force-out if baserunner made it?

Say there is a runner on first base. The batter hits it to the outfield and the baserunner advances to second base but over-runs the bag by making an aggressive turn. On the throw back, he gets tagged ...
2
votes
0answers
24 views

Is there a name for the combined stats of Balls, Strikes, and Outs, as seen on many displays in baseball?

Baseball fields often have a display of the number of balls, strikes, and outs. Does this group have a name? As far as I can cell, "Count" refers to just balls and strikes and are for individual ...
0
votes
2answers
33 views

what determines a stolen base against the catcher?

what determines if a successful stolen base is against the catcher or pitcher? for instance, a ball thrown in the dirt after the runner breaks for the next base. This surely can not be held against ...
0
votes
2answers
30 views

Force out rules

Playing a little league game we had a runner on first and the batter hit a ground ball. Runner on first went to second and stopped, batter made it to first and then turned trying to go to second, but ...
1
vote
2answers
83 views

Forced Out at Third Base

There’s a runner on first. The batter hits a ball to left field. Runner on first advances to second, hitter decides to round first and advance to second as well forcing runner on second to now advance ...
0
votes
1answer
52 views

Which runner is out? [duplicate]

There is 1 out. There is a runner on first, and the ball is hit to the second baseman. The second baseman gets the ball and runs towards first. The runner on first stays on 1st base and the batter ...
1
vote
2answers
233 views

Fair or Foul Ruling?

A pop fly is hit along the first base foul line between home plate and first base. It lands in fair territory, but with the spin, it bounces three feet into foul territory. Before the ball is allowed ...
-1
votes
1answer
42 views

Baseball Autographs

Is the any place that you can scan an autograph to a data base to find out what player you have. I have been left multiple signed baseballs but have no idea who they are.
1
vote
2answers
230 views

What is the call when a runner misses 2nd base on a 1st to 3rd and a dead ball call?

runner on 1st. ball is hit to outfield. runner advances to 3rd missing 2nd base. the throw coming in to 3rd base goes into dugout. What is the proper call?
0
votes
3answers
103 views

Can the pitcher run to first base

can the pitcher run to first base with the ball and get an out?
2
votes
1answer
78 views

Any penalty for playing dirty in baseball?

Manny Machado of the Dodgers has been noticed as making a number of dirty plays, stepping on infielders' feet or trying to kick them as he slides. For example, in the NLCS he was on first when the ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

No penalty for hitting catcher in the head with a bat?

In game 4 of the World Series last night I noticed that in the 4th inning, one of the Dodger batters, the second one I think, hit the catcher in the head with his bat. Is there no penalty for this?
0
votes
1answer
158 views

When do team managers submit the batter lineup to the umpire?

Background I am interested in looking at the matchups between the pitcher and the batter lineup he has to face. However, there are several times I have looked at the batting lineup for a game ...
1
vote
1answer
62 views

MLB record for consecutive years with an identical batting average (single player)

Khris Davis has had the same batting average for four consecutive years. Have other batters with 100 or more plate appearances in each year done this?
1
vote
2answers
124 views

What is a “scoring position” in baseball?

I heard the other day the commentator said a player is in "scoring position" after running to the second base. What is a "scoring position" in baseball/MLB?
2
votes
1answer
68 views

MLB rule on subs for injuries after you used the entire roster

Major league rules. What happens if team used the entire roster and now a player gets hurt ???
1
vote
3answers
124 views

What is the cause for MLB regular season strikeouts to be more than hits?

For the first time in the history of the MLB, the 2018 season saw the total number of batter hits be less than strikeouts. See chart below: Hits have consistently been about 10,000+ higher than ...
1
vote
2answers
157 views

Can a force play come back into effect if a runner reaches the required base but then retreats?

Situation (in a youth baseball league game): Bases loaded, 1 out. A ground ball is hit to the shortstop. Runner at 3rd goes home and touches the plate. Runner at 2nd begins to run to 3rd, but seeing ...
1
vote
1answer
77 views

Odd scenario at first base through poor baserunning

Runner on first, a grounder is hit to first and the runner doesn't advance because he thinks the ball is going foul. The ball is played by the first baseman and ruled fair. The first baseman touches ...
1
vote
1answer
130 views

Why have “less than 250 feet” in rule 5.05(a)(5) if rule 2.01 renders its chance of occurrence to zero?

While reading Rule 5.05, I came across the following in (a)(5): A fair ball passes over a fence or into the stands at a distance from home base of 250 feet or more. Such hit entitles the batter ...
1
vote
1answer
160 views

What happens if fielder catches ball at fence but drops ball over fence?

Here's the scenario: Batter hits pitch, ball looks to drop just outside the fence but a fielder manages to get to the fence quickly and climb on it to attempt a catch, raising his arm to try and get ...
0
votes
1answer
150 views

Does the run count on a force out if it's the second out of the play AND the first is a non-forced tag out?

So the scenario that I'm wondering about (not trying to be difficult, just curious)... Runner at 2nd and 3rd... hit to SS and a slow batter-runner.... SS tags 2nd who was advancing unforced and the ...
4
votes
3answers
139 views

Base running after being awarded two bases

Runner is one first base. He starts stealing second base but decides to go back to first. The ball goes from catcher to second baseman. Second baseman tries to pick up the runner going back to first ...
0
votes
1answer
43 views

Is it a good play for a runner on third coming home when a hitter hit a ground ball to second base?

When a hitter hits a short ground ball to second base, should a runner on third stay at the base or run home?