Questions tagged [pool]

Questions about the cue sport formally known as pocket billiards or pool billiards. Please try and specify which the exact set of rules the question refers to.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
1answer
30 views

American 8 Ball Pool - Sinking opponent's ball

On an 8 ball game, I am left with the 8 ball close to a pocket and the opponent has one ball blocking the pocket to which I am going to play the 8 ball. If I sink the opponents's ball using the 8 ...
0
votes
0answers
20 views

Potting the 8 ball & a stripes or solid ball on a break

In 8 ball, its your break, you hit the balls, a solid, (or stripes ball), and the 8 ball go into pockets at same time, do you put the 8 ball back onto the table
1
vote
1answer
30 views

Does the person breaking get the choice of solids or stripes if he makes any ball in?

When playing 8-ball, if the breaking player hits any ball on the break, does the shooting player have a verbal choice of stripes or solids? Or does he still have to call a shot in before he can? If ...
-2
votes
1answer
47 views

In Pool… the only 2 balls remains what will happen if [duplicate]

If only the white and black balls remains, and I hit the black one and it’s get in pocket first.. and then the white one goes out the table I consider myself won or lost
2
votes
1answer
46 views

Cue ball behind head string in pocket billiards

Is it in print that the complete cue ball must be behind the headstring? Some people think it's only the bottom of the ball that must be behind.
0
votes
1answer
149 views

Changing a call on a pocket for an 8 ball

When you call a pocket and miss the shot for the 8 ball, on your next turn can you call a different pocket or do you still have to try to shoot the 8 ball in the original pocket?
2
votes
1answer
94 views

What happens when my opponent sinks the black ball by hand?

If my opponent sinks the black ball by their hand, do I win or carry on playing?
2
votes
1answer
198 views

Purposely hitting the black ball away from the pocket when not on the black

Playing pool today and my opponent purposely hit the black out of the way of the pocket instead of hitting his own ball. How are you meant to proceed in this scenario, does the ball go in hand or ...
3
votes
1answer
645 views

Touching ball scenario in 8-ball

In the game of 8-ball: suppose my opponent plays his/her shot without a foul, and the cue ball ends in a touching-ball situation (that is, the white ball stops right next to a ball, declared to be ...
0
votes
2answers
441 views

8 ball pools, foul rules when only 8 ball is on the table?

What happens if I've only 8 ball remaining, my opponent has his category object balls remaining. I called a pocket for 8 ball but didn't pocket it and it still remains on the table. Will my opponent ...
0
votes
1answer
53 views

Sinking my last ball with a back shot where cue ball bounces back to to pot the black ball

After pocketing the last ball, the cue ball bounces back to pot the 8 ball, leaving my opponent with 4 object balls. In this situation, who is considered to be the winner? Is it the the opponent or ...
-5
votes
2answers
68 views

Is chalking a snooker/pool stick a recent habit?

I was watching this video from 1987, so I wonder if chalking the stick is a recent discovery that they didn't know about back then? Jimmy is drinking beer and frustrated but John is shooting very ...
2
votes
1answer
363 views

What constitutes a legal safety shot in 8-ball pool?

In a recent friendly game, I successfully snookered my opponent between the rail and one of my balls. To achieve this, I played the cue ball off a single rail and ended up touching my own ball before ...
3
votes
1answer
54 views

What's the average weight of a professional's Cue stick?

As I have observed my Cue action is better with a heavier stick but I kind of feel good with a relatively lighter one. What's the average weight of a professional's Cue stick as I'm in early stages ...
9
votes
2answers
806 views

What happens when 2 balls partially fall into a pocket and then get stuck?

In a recent game of pool, my opponent hit a shot that resulted in 2 balls getting stuck in between a pocket's walls. They were both still touching the table surface, while at the same time partially ...
0
votes
0answers
12 views

8 ball hitting another ball in a game of pool [duplicate]

if I call my pocket for an 8 ball shot. I shoot my 8ball toward the pocket. its going toward the pocket but hits another ball that's on the table and still goes in do you lose the game. not a combo ...
1
vote
0answers
36 views

Do you lose in 8 ball pool if the 8 ball hits another ball [duplicate]

Regular 8 call pocket pool you are on the 8 ball for the win. You call your pocket. You shoot and hit the 8 ball. It's going for the pocket you called, but hits another ball on the way and still goes ...
1
vote
0answers
31 views

Cleaning Oil/Grease on Felt Pool Table

I recently bought a used felt top pool table from someone that had it in their workshop. They had started using it more like a table, so it got rather dirty with general debris, but also oil and ...
1
vote
0answers
42 views

use 8 ball to clear pocket [closed]

Two balls on table. Opponents ball blocking pocket and 8 ball used to sink opponents ball to clear pocket and then sink the 8 ball behind it in the same shot. Is this a legal shot?
3
votes
1answer
2k views

In pool, what happens if the last coloured ball and the white are sunk in the same shot?

When a person sinks the last coloured ball plus the white ball, while the black ball is remaining, is that game over or does the opposition player gets one shot on the black from the baulk line?
6
votes
1answer
6k views

American billards, foul in last ball (black)

I searched a lot about last ball fouls, but I couldnt conclude any answers. I got two scenarios: If only black ball remains and Player A fouls, what does Player B do? Can player B do free-shot? I ...
4
votes
1answer
225 views

What is the origin of the term 'on the hill' in pool?

In pool it is often said by the commentators that a player/team is "on the hill", or if the match goes to the last rack: a "hill-hill game". Where were these terms first coined, and by whom? The ...
2
votes
2answers
174 views

8 ball (i have solids) can I hit solid, stripe and then make a solid legally i.e.agood hit?

8 Ball - when shooting 8 ball (I have solids) can I hit solid, stripe and then make a solid legally i.e. a good hit?
3
votes
2answers
59 views

Starting a social pool club at work

I work for a large company with a good social focus. I'm thinking of starting a weekly pool club for the interested. I've found a decent venue where we can go to have an informal get together, but ...
6
votes
2answers
13k views

Sinking cue ball after the 8 ball in pool

When I designate the pocket I'm putting the 8-ball and I am successful and then follow it in with the cue ball - do I still win?
5
votes
2answers
9k views

When shooting the 8-ball, can it bounce off another ball into a pocket if it is called?

If I am shooting the 8-ball for a win, and my opponent has a ball near the pocket I'm aiming for, can I call something like "8-ball off the 2 ball into the corner pocket"? I thought this was allowed, ...
3
votes
1answer
7k views

Who wins if an opponent's last ball is pocketed while pocketing the 8-Ball?

During a 8 Ball Pool game when I potted the black ball it hit the opponents last Coloured ball and it went into a pocket. Who wins the frame?
8
votes
3answers
15k views

Black Ball: Can a player win a game by first hitting an opponents ball on a free shot?

In a game where where player 1 is on black and player 2 still has balls remaining on the table. Given the scenarios where player 2 commits a foul giving player 1 a free shot, then on that free shot ...
2
votes
1answer
68 views

What is Safety Play? [duplicate]

I found this rule 2-8 Safety Play Prior to any shot except the break, you may declare a safety. On a safety, your inning ends after the shot regardless of whether you pocket any ball. If you ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

In 8 ball, can I call the same pocket with my opponent for the last ball?

Assume that there are two balls left on the table (black and white). Can I call the pocket which is called by my opponent in his turn? We do not allow it, but we are not sure where the rule is coming ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

8-ball: is it a foul if the shooter doesn't touch the call shot ball?

I'm not sure if this is covered by the 6.2 Wrong Ball First. Basically I want to know if it's a foul in this case/example: the shooter is assigned the stripes group the shooter calls the shot: ball ...
5
votes
2answers
367 views

Is it easy to learn how to use an American pool cue if you're a snooker player?

The only cue sports I have good experience of are Snooker and British pool. For these cue sports one usually play with a 9mm tip. Even though American pool balls are slightly bigger and heavier than ...
4
votes
2answers
337 views

8 ball - Does order of pocketed balls matter?

In 8 ball, if neither group has been claimed yet and a player makes a shot, pockets a solid ball, then pockets the cue ball all on the same turn (in that order), is that player solids or do both ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

8-ball pool: can you call an object and the eight-ball in the same shot? [duplicate]

In playing 8-ball pool, if you have only your final object ball remaining, can you call the object ball and the 8-ball at the same time, as long as the object ball is pocketed first, and win the game?
3
votes
2answers
758 views

Is an intentional foul in “killers” pool considered cheating?

I was playing "killers", the billiards variant in Ireland a while ago. I was left with one life left and I did not feel I had a shot to sink any balls, so I decided I'd use my shot to make the next ...
0
votes
1answer
188 views

Ball in hand on the black - where can it go? [duplicate]

If I made a foul (such as scratching the cue ball), my opponent has the ball in hand. Where can they place it, if they are on the black?
3
votes
2answers
508 views

When playing pool, where can I shoot the eight ball to win?

If there are no balls on the table, other than the eight ball and the cue ball. In order to win the game, does the player have to shoot the cue ball down the table to hit the eight ball or can the ...
8
votes
2answers
268 views

Pool table sizes and minimum play area

I'm looking to install a pool table but I'm not sure if it is possible in the space I have. The area is 8.5' by 17'. Would this be enough room to play any sized table without play being hindered?
3
votes
2answers
8k views

In UK Pool rules, what happens if both players are on black and a player deliberately taps the white 1cm forward into nothing?

In UK Pool rules, what happens if both players are on black and a player deliberately taps the white 1cm forward into nothing? As I play, this is a foul but as the next player is on black they do not ...
6
votes
2answers
12k views

8 ball Pool: Left only with black ball

What happens if I have only the 8 (black) ball left to pot and my opponent who has a colored ball scratches the cue ball? Do I get a ball in hand or do I have to try potting the black ball from behind ...
4
votes
1answer
623 views

Eight-ball or black ball pool rules

In 8 ball pool, what is the penalty if I play my group ball and another one of my group balls falls into the pocket without being touched?
9
votes
1answer
3k views

In 8 ball can a player place the cue ball behind the head string and then directly pot a ball which is also behind the string?

Section 3.9 of the WPA Pool Billiards rules lists Bad Play from Behind the Head String as a standard foul for 8 ball. However, when you actually read Section 6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String, ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens when all the same color balls (solids or stripes) go in on the break?

I played on a pool league (TAP league, 8-ball) a few years ago and some of us pondered what would happen according to the rules if a pool player made either all solids or stripes on the break (but not ...
5
votes
1answer
4k views

What does “Race to X” mean?

A local pool hall features weekly 8-ball and 9-ball double-elimination tournaments, and the different tournaments are described as: Race to 4 Race to 4/3 Race to 2 What do these terms mean?
4
votes
2answers
203 views

Cue ball foul in 8 ball

We had a game the other night where the cue ball jumped off the table rolling on the wood surface and then hitting the metal silver lining around the pocket and returned to the bed of table, and I ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Why call 'safety' if the turn will pass to the opponent anyway after failing a called shot?

In 8-ball pool, if I fail a called shot, the turn passes to my opponent. There is also the option of calling safety, in which case the turn will pass to my opponent as well. What is the advantage of ...
11
votes
3answers
127k views

In 8-ball, do I win if I shoot in the 8 ball and my last ball in the same shot?

If I am able to shoot in the 8-ball and my last object ball in a single shot and I call the 8 ball in a pocket, do I win? Does the order in which the 2 balls leave the table matter?
5
votes
1answer
383 views

Accidentally striking a ball with the cue after the first successful shot

In 8-Ball, after a break where no balls were sunk, the next player takes their turn. They successfully sink a ball and the balls have stopped moving, but while moving away from the table for the next ...
6
votes
1answer
7k views

8-ball call shot rules when more than one ball is scored

If a player intends to score more than one ball in a single shot does he/she need to call all the balls he/she wants to score or just one of them? I.e. I want to score ball 1 and 2 on a single shot, ...
5
votes
2answers
29k views

What happens when both players are on the black ball?

In 8-Ball Pool, when you are on the black ball, if you foul (eg. don't hit the black ball), the other player doesn't get 2 shots because they are on the black ball. What stops both the players from ...