Questions tagged [pool]

Questions about the cue sport formally known as pocket billiards or pool billiards. Please try and specify which the exact set of rules the question refers to.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
1k views

8-ball: is it a foul if the shooter doesn't touch the call shot ball?

I'm not sure if this is covered by the 6.2 Wrong Ball First. Basically I want to know if it's a foul in this case/example: the shooter is assigned the stripes group the shooter calls the shot: ball ...
1
vote
0answers
20 views

What happens if I call the 3 ball in one corner and the 8 ball in another? [duplicate]

My last ball on the table is the 3. I call the 3 ball in one corner and the 8 ball in the other corner. I make contact with the 3 ball first, then the 8 ball. Does it matter if the 3 ball goes in ...
1
vote
0answers
41 views

Do you lose in 8 ball pool if the 8 ball hits another ball [duplicate]

Regular 8 call pocket pool you are on the 8 ball for the win. You call your pocket. You shoot and hit the 8 ball. It's going for the pocket you called, but hits another ball on the way and still goes ...
1
vote
0answers
42 views

use 8 ball to clear pocket [closed]

Two balls on table. Opponents ball blocking pocket and 8 ball used to sink opponents ball to clear pocket and then sink the 8 ball behind it in the same shot. Is this a legal shot?
0
votes
1answer
81 views

Sinking my last ball with a back shot where cue ball bounces back to to pot the black ball

After pocketing the last ball, the cue ball bounces back to pot the 8 ball, leaving my opponent with 4 object balls. In this situation, who is considered to be the winner? Is it the the opponent or ...
0
votes
1answer
200 views

American 8 Ball Pool - Sinking opponent's ball

On an 8 ball game, I am left with the 8 ball close to a pocket and the opponent has one ball blocking the pocket to which I am going to play the 8 ball. If I sink the opponents's ball using the 8 ...
0
votes
2answers
1k views

8 ball pools, foul rules when only 8 ball is on the table?

What happens if I've only 8 ball remaining, my opponent has his category object balls remaining. I called a pocket for 8 ball but didn't pocket it and it still remains on the table. Will my opponent ...
0
votes
0answers
13 views

8 ball hitting another ball in a game of pool [duplicate]

if I call my pocket for an 8 ball shot. I shoot my 8ball toward the pocket. its going toward the pocket but hits another ball that's on the table and still goes in do you lose the game. not a combo ...
0
votes
1answer
256 views

Ball in hand on the black - where can it go? [duplicate]

If I made a foul (such as scratching the cue ball), my opponent has the ball in hand. Where can they place it, if they are on the black?
-2
votes
1answer
63 views

In Pool… the only 2 balls remains what will happen if [duplicate]

If only the white and black balls remains, and I hit the black one and it’s get in pocket first.. and then the white one goes out the table I consider myself won or lost
-5
votes
2answers
78 views

Is chalking a snooker/pool stick a recent habit?

I was watching this video from 1987, so I wonder if chalking the stick is a recent discovery that they didn't know about back then? Jimmy is drinking beer and frustrated but John is shooting very ...

1
2