Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [rules]

Questions about the rules of sports, including regulations for particular competitions or formats. Questions must also be tagged for the specific sport or competition.

1
vote
0answers
9 views

Putting out on every hole in a bogey competition

Do you have to putt out on every hole in a bogey competition even when you are over par on a hole ?
3
votes
1answer
60 views

Can the goalkeeper release the ball at their own goal, then save it from going in?

In this YouTube video (should start at 13 seconds), the goalkeeper releases the ball, involuntarily aiming it towards his own goal. Would he be allowed to save it using his hands? I read in this ...
10
votes
1answer
12k views

Stumping from fast bowling?

Is it possible to dismiss a batsman by stumping off a fast bowler with the wicket keeper not standing up to the stumps? To be more specific, for stumping a batsman, is it mandatory to keep the ball ...
4
votes
3answers
11k views

In cricket, is it a no-ball even if the ball hits the wicket?

I play cricket every summer and have been ever since I was little. During a match I was bowling. The rule in the league I play for is If the ball is bowled (without hitting the ground) above waist ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Football fields that are approximately square

According to Wikipedia, an association football pitch: "…is rectangular in shape. The longer sides are called touchlines. The other opposing sides are called the goal lines. The two goal lines must ...
0
votes
0answers
21 views

Are tennis rackets checked by officials before matches?

Following this question I started looking for evidence that rackets in tennis were checked by officials, at least on the ATP tour, but couldn't find some. I was able to find the regulations for racket ...
5
votes
2answers
73 views

Why do table tennis players inspect each other's rackets?

I was reading up on some table tennis rules, and there seems to be a lot of regulations regarding the racket/paddle/bat. One of the regulations is that the players inspect each other's rackets before ...
2
votes
1answer
7k views

Number of whistles by referees defined in the rules or is it just a guideline?

When starting a game a whistle is blown by the referee only once. At the end of the 1st half the referee blows the whistle 2 times. At the end of the game the referee blows the whistle 3 times. Is ...
25
votes
5answers
11k views

Does the batsman get runs on No ball when the team requires only 1 run to win?

Suppose, A batsman is on strike with 98 runs. The scores are level so the batting team requires only 1 run to win. Now suppose in the next ball, the bowler bowls a No ball and the batsman hits FOUR or ...
9
votes
3answers
10k views

Who is out if both batsmen end up at the same end and at the other end fielders hit the stumps?

Consider the following situation, Batsmen A and B are playing, A is facing the ball and hits the ball inside the ground. Both of them running between the wickets and meet at the centre of the pitch, ...
7
votes
2answers
343 views

How much is the fine for arguing with an umpire?

How much is a player fined for arguing with an Umpire? I have heard that it is a percentage of their match fees. Are fines for captains different for such cases? Do umpires register allegations ...
0
votes
1answer
89 views

Why wouldn't the #1 ranked boxer be able to fight and claim a relinquished champion title?

In the show Hajime no Ippo the person ranked #1 in Japan challenges the Japanese champion for the belt but loses. Immediately afterwards, the champion relinquishes his title to pursue the world ...
9
votes
2answers
355 views

What's the rule governing the Lynch touchdown in the Falcons - Seahawks playoff game?

In an amazing comeback, the Seahawks got a TD with less than a minute on the clock. The running back Marshawn Lynch seemed to fumble the ball, which was then picked up by the center and carried into ...
6
votes
1answer
8k views

What determines if a hand pass is legal in the NHL?

What are the conditions that make a hand pass legal or illegal? I have seen players swat the puck to a teammate and not get whistled for the a hand pass and I have see players get whistled for what ...
6
votes
1answer
12k views

Is it a catch/dismissal

Will the batsman be dismissed as caught is each of the below scenario: If the ball hits the arm pad of the batsman and is caught by the fielder. If the ball hits the leg pad first, then hits the bat ...
2
votes
1answer
33 views

Is carrying a player into touch a legal tackle?

I recently saw this snippet of a two defenders carrying an opponent into touch as he was holding onto the ball. So I looked into tackle laws: REQUIREMENTS FOR A TACKLE (https://laws.worldrugby.org/...
12
votes
1answer
27k views

Can I use my hand to hit the ball on table tennis?

I've read in somebody's comment in another question: USA Table Tennis rules: 2.5.7 A player strikes the ball if s/he touches it in play with his/her racket, held in the hand, or with his/her ...
4
votes
1answer
41 views

Table Tennis free hand on table

Can my free hand touch the table when hitting a ball in play?
2
votes
1answer
13k views

What type of gas(if it is not air) is a soccer ball (football) filled with?

In any FIFA World Cup or UEFA competition or the Barclays Premier League and other professional football matches, what type of air is the ball filled with? Are there any regulations on the type of ...
4
votes
2answers
6k views

Can runs be scored by a boundary in the same legal ball as an Out - Hit wicket?

Suppose a batsman plays the ball, gets out Hit wicket and the ball crosses the boundary. Will the runs be considered or not? What changes if the batsman misses the ball, is out Hit wicket, and the ...
1
vote
1answer
24 views

Does the person breaking get the choice of solids or stripes if he makes any ball in?

When playing 8-ball, if the breaking player hits any ball on the break, does the shooting player have a verbal choice of stripes or solids? Or does he still have to call a shot in before he can? If ...
-1
votes
0answers
19 views

Was the Liverpool vs Barcelona UCL Semi-Final 2019 quick corner kick within the rules? [duplicate]

The moment the other ball went out of play, Trent Alexander-Arnold instinctively took a quick corner kick. Shouldn't the referee need to start the game before the kick can be taken?
7
votes
1answer
168 views

Will the club finishing 4th in the EPL go to any European competition if clubs from 5 to 8 win corresponding titles granting European qualification?

Starting the 2018/19 season there will be a new distribution rules in the Champions League (CL) and Europa League (EL). CL and EL winners will get automatic spot in group stages. The new rule states ...
0
votes
0answers
13 views

Potting the 8 ball & a stripes or solid ball on a break

In 8 ball, its your break, you hit the balls, a solid, (or stripes ball), and the 8 ball go into pockets at same time, do you put the 8 ball back onto the table
8
votes
2answers
459 views

Did any cricket ball ever break during an international cricket match?

Did any such incident happen? What are the rules if a ball breaks during play?
0
votes
2answers
124 views

Can a batsman be caught from their elbow?

Ball hits elbow or below elbow of batsman and raises in the air. The ball is then directly caught by fielder. Is he out or not?
0
votes
2answers
129 views

Forward tees for men/women

When men and women are both playing forward tee box and using handicap strokes do you use the one below it which says (women’s) difficulty on the card for both men and women, since that is the actual ...
3
votes
3answers
3k views

Is a ball which bounces into foul territory fair or foul?

In slow pitch senior softball, a ball is hit and lands fair between 1st & 3rd, then bounces left in the air foul. However the ball is caught before it hits the ground. Is it fair or foul?
2
votes
2answers
110 views

Can a linebacker make contact with a receiver before a pass is thrown to him?

I know this is a simple question, but in a cover 3 defense where the outside linebacker has the Curl/Flat zone, can the OLB make contact with a receiver on a flat before a ball is passed? I’m in 8th ...
0
votes
2answers
344 views

8 ball pools, foul rules when only 8 ball is on the table?

What happens if I've only 8 ball remaining, my opponent has his category object balls remaining. I called a pocket for 8 ball but didn't pocket it and it still remains on the table. Will my opponent ...
3
votes
1answer
80 views

Can you be offside from a goal kick?

Can you be offside from a goal kick? Looking for official FIFA laws.
0
votes
0answers
14 views

What happens after the penalty if a player is snookered behind a free ball?

What happens after the penalty is applied when a player is snookered behind a free ball? This question pertains to the rule when a free ball has been nominated, but the player not only fails to sink ...
0
votes
3answers
703 views

Ball headed foul but stopped before it gets there - is it still fair?

Scenario: a ground ball is hit towards third base and bounces left towards foul territory. Suppose the third baseman grabs the ball while he is standing in fair territory before the ball gets to 3rd ...
2
votes
2answers
10k views

What is the protocol for switching a pitcher between positions?

It's kind of rare, but I've heard that it is possible to "relieve" a pitcher without removing him from the game--by making him a position player such as an outfielder, or first baseman. My ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Do the laws of cricket allow running on the last ball, even after winning?

Say, teamA score is 368 (369 to win), and teamB is batting at 368 (or 366). One run (or 3 runs) will make them win. The batsman hits the ball for a six, so score is 374 (or 372) which is more than the ...
19
votes
2answers
7k views

In football, what rules handle a player changing their position with the goalkeeper?

In football it is my assumption that any players on the same team can exchange their positions without waiting for the ball to leave play or without making any explicit indication to the other team. ...
-1
votes
1answer
61 views

If a forced runner is tagged for the 3rd out, do any runs count? [duplicate]

Bases loaded with 2 outs. Ball is hit to shortstop. SS tags runner attempting to advance to 3rd. Does the run count from 3rd base
-2
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a batsman be out hit wicket on a wide or a no ball?

A batsman tries to hit the ball on leg side and ball passes way away from the leg stump, no contact with ball and it passes by the stumps, after that the batsman touches the leg stumps by heels.. Will ...
0
votes
0answers
23 views

Is traveling/carrying no longer called for dribbling players?

As far as I know you are not supposed to let the ball stop in your hands while you are dribbling. However it seems like in modern NBA this is not enforced very often. Most recently I was watching the ...
0
votes
0answers
12 views

Double play sac fly. Does the run count? [duplicate]

Runners on 1st and 3rd, 1 out. Batter hits ball to center fielder, runner from 3rd tags up, but the runner on 1st was doubled off after the runner crossed the plate. Does the run score? I'm under the ...
1
vote
2answers
925 views

Can a goalkeeper use his/her hands within the opponents penalty area?

The Wikipedia article on goalkeepers states that: The goalkeeper is the only player in the side who may use his or her hands and arms to catch, throw and save the ball, but only within the penalty ...
1
vote
3answers
811 views

If during a struggle defender crosses the line but raider does not then the raider is declared out or not?

In Kabaddi, if a raider goes into struggle and while tackling the raider a defender enters the opponent team's court and raider some how is tackled by the defenders then the raider is declared out or ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Are players allowed to convert a penalty kick into a “multiple passes goal”? [duplicate]

Is it legal in football that a player scores a goal in penalty by creating a pass (in forward direction as per rules) to another teammate and get passed back and repeat the passes until they want to ...
1
vote
2answers
85 views

Inbound basketball passed outside the court, then dribbled in

I was watching a local college basketball game last night (SSAC) and saw something I really don’t understand, so I thought I would do some research. I’ve come up empty so far. The opposing team was ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

What should a referee do if he physically obstructs a player?

In the Euro 2012 match between Spain and Ireland, the referee actually ended up tackling down a player who was receiving the ball from his defense and moving off to dribble through the incoming ...
13
votes
6answers
15k views

Rules for Orange and Purple Caps in IPL

In IPL, Orange and Purple caps are awarded to the highest run scorer and highest wicket taker. I have three questions on this topic. If more than one player has equal stats (highest runs or wickets),...
9
votes
2answers
29k views

What happens when ball touches net during serving?

I found some information on rules, but I never found a clear answer to what should be done when a served ball touches the net. Is it point for opponent, or should the serve be redone? If redone - will ...
1
vote
1answer
46 views

Penalty for interfering with the path of the cue ball?

In snooker, what is the penalty for interfering with the path of the cue ball? I assume it must be more than 7 points because let's say a player hits a shot and he sees the cue ball heading for the ...
5
votes
1answer
49 views

What was a “try” in ancient football?

This article (archive link) about the Scottish team Berwick Rangers centenary refers to the first competitive game: The fishermen of the Greens also formed a football club around the same time, ...
12
votes
3answers
6k views

Ball touching the ground during a catch in cricket

If a fielder takes a catch and the ball touches the ground (ball is in hand only, but it’s touching the ground at the same time), is it considered as out?