Questions tagged [rules]

Questions about the rules of sports, including regulations for particular competitions or formats. Questions must also be tagged for the specific sport or competition.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
0answers
31 views

Can a player be part of a team's backroom staff during a tournament?

In England, as part of the build-up to the Euro 2020 (2021) tournament, there has been much discussion between fans about the inclusion of both Jordan Henderson and Harry Maguire - who have either ...
0
votes
1answer
13 views

Fouls by the goalkeeper when in possession of the ball

Is the ball considered to be in play or out of play when the goalkeeper has possession? What should be the restart if the goalkeeper commits a foul/misconduct when he has the ball in his hands?
0
votes
0answers
17 views

What does Offside means in soccer? [duplicate]

I am a long time baseball fan and now I am learning about soccer/football. When I am watching soccer on TV and there is a soccer player that has the ball running away from a defender. If the player ...
0
votes
0answers
17 views

Baseball rules interpretation [duplicate]

Bases loaded ball hit to the third baseman who attempts eventually tags the runner going to third for the 3rd out, but the runner on 3rd scores before he is tagged. Does the run count?
0
votes
0answers
34 views

In the NBA, do you get a free throw if you are fouled by the buzzer?

What happens if an NBA player gets fouled right when the shot clock ends, and he gets the and 1. Would he be able to shoot the free throw? Do the referees base this on game point, or just don't do it?
2
votes
1answer
47 views

What is an improper batter?

I'm a first time little league coach, and this came up in my second game: who is an improper (out-of-order) batter? To keep things simple and fair for my kids, I kept the same batting order from game ...
1
vote
1answer
44 views

What is the ruling on a dropped third strike and first base being unoccupied because a runner is stealing?

If a runner is stealing the second base, and the catcher drops a third strike is first base considered occupied or can the batter run to first and be safe?
3
votes
1answer
22 views

In badminton, how do invasion and obstruct interact chronologically?

This question is somewhat theoretical in nature since I’ve never seen it actually happen, but I just saw an instance that came very, very close, and I wondered what would have been done if it had ...
0
votes
1answer
52 views

Can a player deliberately foul in a red if a color is on?

There is a rare situation in snooker where it would seem a player should deliberately foul. That is when a player is ahead by 5-6 points and there is hard color but red in the jaws of the pocket. For ...
1
vote
1answer
29 views

Can a runner touch a dead ball?

Runner is on 3rd base. Batter in the box hits a foul ball on the ground down (so now it's a dead ball) the first base line. The first base coach bends down and tosses it to the pitcher. The pitcher ...
1
vote
1answer
81 views

Is it against the rules to fly in the NBA?

If someone were to miraculously develop the super power to fly (say they could hover up to 1000 feet and swiftly move in three dimensions) would any rules as currently defined by the NBA prevent the ...
1
vote
1answer
47 views

In tennis how to find out the service side in the middle of the game?

I am new to tennis, both as a viewer and a player. I hope this is not the wrong place to ask a beginner question. So what happens is, after serving the ball I am too invested in the game and I don't ...
3
votes
2answers
51 views

Batter stepping over first base

With no runners on bases, the batter hits a ball to the short-stop. The batter steps over first base without making contact with it. The first baseman drops the ball and never had possession. Knowing ...
2
votes
1answer
34 views

Does a relief pitcher who loses the lead then regains it get a win?

Starting pitcher ends inning with a 3-1 lead. New inning, relief pitcher gives up two runs for a 3-3 tie. Bottom of that inning we go ahead and finish with a win. Which pitcher gets the W? Seems ...
3
votes
1answer
81 views

What does this number mean in PGA Tournament scores?

Golf newbie here. I'm watching the Valero Texas Open, round 4. It just started, and a player just completed the 1st hole making a Par in this Par-4 hole (thus having made 4 shots so far). However the ...
3
votes
2answers
52 views

Sac fly and sac bunt

I am having trouble understanding sacrifice fly and sacrifice bunt in baseball. Specifically, do both result in out for the batter? Because otherwise what would "sacrifice" mean? It will be ...
1
vote
1answer
29 views

If a player throws a a lateral/backward pass to a teammate and the receiver is downed behind him

For example, Team A is down by a score late in the game, say third-and-ten at the opponent's 30 yard line. A pass play is called and the quarterback throws the ball to a receiver with a gain of say 13 ...
1
vote
1answer
24 views

Hockey Player physically in opponents net

In tonight's Ranger game, a Ranger was checked into the Flyers net. No penalty was called and the net was NOT dislodged. If a Ranger shot crossed the goal line with the player still in the net, ...
3
votes
1answer
66 views

Game misconduct at the end of the NHL match

At the end of the Winnipeg Jets vs the Edmonton Oilers match on March 20th 2021, the Jets captain Nikolaj Elers threw the puck in frustration and got a game misconduct penalty. Since the game was over ...
1
vote
1answer
49 views

Who gets the point in this hypothetical badminton move?

There are two badminton players, A and B. A makes a sort of eccentric move. This involves a woodshot by the tip of the racket that caused the shuttlecock to turn into boomerang, first moving ...
1
vote
1answer
51 views

Is a batsman out if they stop a ball spinning onto the wicket with their bat? [duplicate]

If the batsman hits the ball and the ball spins and goes to the wicket, if he stops the ball with the bat, is he out or not out?
2
votes
1answer
80 views

Can a goalkeeper head a backpass then pick it up?

Let's say hypothetically that a player plays a lobbed pass back to the keeper (played with the player's foot), and the keeper manages to control the pass with his head. Is he allowed to pick up the ...
4
votes
1answer
72 views

What is the ruling in badminton when the shuttlecock (birdie) rests on the top of the net?

During badminton matches, in very rare circumstances, the shuttlecock (birdie) will fall to rest on the top of the net. I'm not referring to when the shuttlecock gets stuck in the mesh of the net; I'...
2
votes
1answer
95 views

In La Liga or the Premier League, can you contest a yellow card after the game and take it off?

As the title suggest, anyone know if a yellow card can be contested in either La Liga or the English Premier League and taken off ? If they can, are there limits as to how many can be contested?
2
votes
1answer
98 views

Can a runner steal bases while batters are switching?

can a base runner attempt to steal a base in the time when a new batter is stepping up to the plate after the previous one left?
2
votes
1answer
72 views

What is the rule on switching inbounders?

Take a look at this video of the 2004 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship Game between UConn and Georgia Tech. Georgia Tech made a 3-pointer with 11.7 seconds left. Then a UConn player ...
1
vote
3answers
85 views

Why do VAR take a while to decide errors if they are supposed to be “clear and obvious”?

A lot of times I'm watching a soccer game and a call goes to VAR. The VAR people review it for a while (and for an offsides it feels like they go down to the inch). This doesn't make sense because it ...
0
votes
0answers
20 views

In eight ball pool , what happens if the player clears all his balls and pockets the eight ball together with opponent's ball? [duplicate]

From what I read it's not defined as a loss in the list of losing shots, but I'm not sure.
0
votes
1answer
73 views

Ice-hockey penalty reasons

Is there a list of all possible penalty reasons in ice-hockey/NHL? Like High sticking, Holding, Hooking... but all of possible reasons. I would like to have the complete list for statistical purposes, ...
0
votes
0answers
83 views

In football (soccer), at what point(s) does the possession of a team start?

For example, the defending team touches and stops the ball but suddenly, an attacking player gets the ball. Can we say defending team gained possession once?
0
votes
1answer
94 views

Wicket keeper move after bowl reach to him [closed]

Can a wicket keeper move after bowl reach to him for stumping? Will it be a fair delivery?
1
vote
0answers
40 views

Backspin takes tennis ball over the net, but hits the player who hit it?

Had a strange situation on court and don't know who wins this point. Player 1 hits a ball with a ton of backspin which lands on players 2 side of the net. The backspin causes the ball to bounce back ...
-1
votes
1answer
48 views

Can VAR still intervene for a penalty call review even if the possession has changed many times?

Here's a scenario. The home team player has been fouled inside his/her opponents’ penalty area and the referee says play on. Then: Home team loses the ball and away team starts a counter attack. ...
0
votes
0answers
24 views

Did Coppa Italia break the Laws of the Game by using only random bits of the temporary amendment to Law 3 instead of the whole thing?

As you probably know, the IFAB issued a temporary amendment to Law 3 allowing for more substitutes to be used during a game if the organizers of a competition wish so. However, the text of the ...
0
votes
1answer
19 views

Does a legal delivery depend on the arm angle with respect to the head?

Does arm angle with respect to the bowler's head (when seen from front or behind the bowler) need to be constant for all deliveries or can it be changed?
-2
votes
1answer
44 views

Can match officials take decisions which are not written in the book but seems correct in a common sense?

For example, there is no such rule which states a player cannot get in contact with opposing team’s goalkeeper in goalkeeper’s 6-yard box. However, in the local league, the referees gives a foul ...
4
votes
0answers
51 views

Does a football referee have a duty to prevent a team from using more substitutions than they're allowed to?

AS Roma lost a game against Spezia in the 2020-21 Coppa Italia because they exceeded the number of substitutions they were allowed to do, mistakenly thinking they could go for a sixth one in extra ...
0
votes
0answers
31 views

Can a throw-in be re-taken in football (soccer)? [duplicate]

During corner kicks, players sometimes commit an infringement against their opponent just before the ball is in play. Then the referee blows her whistle because she is either warned by another match ...
1
vote
1answer
49 views

Does playing advantage count as a restart in football?

According to Law-5, the referee cannot change the restart decision once the play restarted. He/she can only issue disciplinary action for the events happened before the restart. In this context, does ...
2
votes
2answers
125 views

Can the referee cancel the goal in such case?

In the following scenario, can the referee cancel the goal? The ball goes out of play. A fight begins between to player of different teams. The referee warns both players, ends the fight and restarts ...
1
vote
1answer
67 views

Is it a touchdown if the receiver puts a knee out of bounds before the second foot in bounds?

Is this considered a touchdown - attempting a catch, the receiver gets one foot touched down in bounds, then the knee touches the ground out of bounds, then the second foot touches in bounds?
1
vote
2answers
114 views

Yellow card or direct red card for an offense that happened 10 minutes ago?

Can a football referee show a yellow card or a direct red card for an offense happened ten minutes ago, simply because they realise that they gave an incorrect decision for not showing the card for ...
2
votes
1answer
75 views

Direct red card for an event that happened 10 minutes ago?

Can a football referee show a direct red card to a player because of an event happened 10 minutes ago? Assume that the game was played in those minutes.
1
vote
1answer
36 views

Could the batter get a walk when the catcher didn't catch the ball?

At about 22′58″ into the video linked below, the Red Sox's batter (Christian) swung and missed when the Yankees' catcher didn't get the ball either. If Christian didn't swing, could he get a walk? The ...
5
votes
2answers
142 views

The goalkeeper finds the ball first with his hands, is it a penalty?

In this play: At the play starting at 16:25 and more specifically at about 16:58, the keeper touches first the ball and secondly possibly touches the opponent's feet. ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

How many fielders are allowed on offside in cricket?

I'm aware that there are few fielding restriction on leg side, for example that there should not be more than 5 fielders on leg side. But is there similar restriction to offside as well? Can I place ...
2
votes
1answer
67 views

Where in MLB rules does it say batting gloves are legal?

If they are legal for batters, then can a pitcher wear a glove on his pitching hand? If the reason for allowing batting gloves is to 'increase the quality of the grip on the bat' then it makes sense ...
0
votes
1answer
211 views

Rest day in a Cricket Test match

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Test_cricket If i am not wrong, there was a rest day after 3 days play between both the cricketing nations in the 5 day test match. Is this rule now discarded ? In case ...
2
votes
2answers
146 views

Why could the fumble in the Browns/Jets game not be advanced?

In the game between the Cleveland Browns and the New York Jets on 12/27/2020, Baker Mayfield fumbled on the final Cleveland posession, at 1:25 remaining. The ball was fumbled during an attempted ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Who is next to bat after a batsman is out?

I've been watching this Big Bash League match and at 1:19:58 (also in other times too) a batsman is out and a new one is coming in. However the new batsman isn't facing the bowler immediately ("...

1
2 3 4 5
32