Questions tagged [serve]

Questions about serving, the act of starting play. This tag must be combined with the sport in question.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1 vote
1 answer
47 views

What are the rules regarding return of serve in tennis doubles?

I was playing up front in tennis doubles. The server hit a trick shot to my partner in the receiving court. The ball hit in the serve court near the center line, bounced and spun into my side. I ...
user avatar
  • 11
3 votes
1 answer
72 views

Where can you serve from the sides in table tennis?

Rule 2.6.4 from the ITTF handbook says: From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be ...
user avatar
  • 83
0 votes
0 answers
21 views

Who will serve the opening game of a set? [duplicate]

Who will serve the opening game in set 2 after tennis player A served the first game of set 1. But tennis player B served the last game in set 1.
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
143 views

Double tennis serve hits opponent purposely [duplicate]

From the video Jelena Ostapenko hits Alize Cornet with a serve and wins point! | Wimbledon 2019, we can see that the serve has given a point. I wonder if they revenge back by serving the tennis ball ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
110 views

Doubles positioning at the net during serve

In doubles (particularly at a 3.0 or 3.5 level), what should the net players consider when choosing where to position during the serve?
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
77 views

Why don't some people serve from directly behind the line but sometimes one or more meters behind it?

Since most people serve from directly behind the line I was surprised to notice that it's not always the case. Why would someone serve from further back?
user avatar
  • 121
5 votes
1 answer
250 views

Are underarm serves fair in tennis? If so, why are they looked upon as a means of disrespect?

As my title says all about the question, are underarm serves a fair thing in tennis? Because the reaction of Chris Garin says me otherwise when Alexander Bublik served him an underarm serve. I was ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
108 views

How do you do a kick serve?

I typically do a hard flat first serve and then a slice second serve, but I'm curious to know the fundamentals behind adding "kick" to a serve for higher bounce.
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
175 views

Can I bounce the ball before serving in squash?

In squash, while serving, can I drop the ball on the floor from my hand and then hit for the serve on the bounce? Or is it mandatory to release the ball from the hand and directly hit it from the ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Missing the ball after throwing it up to serve in table tennis

Do you lose a point if you throw the ball up during a serve but miss while trying to hit it?
user avatar
  • 21
2 votes
1 answer
106 views

What are the most serve attempts for a single tennis point?

In Tennis, you usually have 2 attempts for a service. however under certain circumstances there are more serves made fot one single point, for example when the ball touches the net and then enters ...
user avatar
  • 121
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Two-handed "attack" return on a serve?

So I went over the Volleyball Canada rulebook for 2018-2019, but I couldn't find anything about a certain situation that occurs often when I play volleyball with friends/colleagues. What will ...
user avatar
  • 123
-2 votes
1 answer
72 views

Referee reaction for blocked service

Blocking a service obviously is not allowed and barely present in competitive volleyball. but it is one of the possible errors. how will the main referee show that (as per, brushing finger tips for ...
user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
357 views

Is it ok to stop my serve when I've already started my racquet forward?

In a match last night, I was serving, threw the ball in the air, and started swinging my racquet. Just before I hit the ball, I stopped my racquet and caught it because I didn't like the toss. Did I ...
user avatar
  • 101
1 vote
1 answer
134 views

Serving over the sideline

As far as I know in table tennis, it is not allowed to serve over the sideline i.e. on the first hit of the ball, it is not allowed that the ball will go over the side of the table on the opponents ...
user avatar
  • 113
2 votes
1 answer
184 views

Why don't professional squash players give hard serves?

I find it odd that in Squash championships, players don't put much energy into the serve. It seems to me that their serve is about half the speed of their fast shots during the game. Is there any rule ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
207 views

When is the ball on the correct side in double table tennis serve?

I know that you must serve from server right side to receiver right side and all that. But when exactly is the ball counted as 'in' regarding the middle line. Is it the center of the ball or is it ...
user avatar
  • 121
1 vote
1 answer
670 views

Can I return a squash serve on the volley?

When my opponent is serving in squash, if I want to return the serve, can I volley this ball back to them? That is, without the ball hitting the floor (opponent serves > front wall > I volley the ball ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
113 views

What are the fundamentals of a serving toss in tennis?

On my tennis serve, how do I properly and consistently do the ball toss?
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
539 views

Time limit to serve

Is there a time limit within which you have to serve the ball? I experienced a strange game where one of the players just turned his back (as he was about to serve) to his opponent and said you ...
user avatar
  • 31
3 votes
2 answers
3k views

In tennis, what is the percentage of broken service games?

Looking at Befair tennis, what is the percentage of broken service games? If both players are fairly evenly matched, how many times does a player lose his service game?
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
6k views

Who calls tennis serves in or out when no referee is present?

Regarding doubles match: On our opponent's second serve to me, I called it out. Our opponents contested my call. My partner said she did not see exactly where the ball bounced. Our opponents said ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
75 views

Can you choose to play a fault serve in racquetball?

Scenario: My opponent serves the ball short, but I'm in a good position to return it. Does a fault serve automatically end the rally? Or can I choose to return the serve and continue the rally?
user avatar
  • 111
3 votes
1 answer
466 views

What does the ITF rulebook consider to be "the service motion"?

According to Rule 18b of the ITF Rulebook: During the service motion, the server shall not... touch the baseline or the court with either foot. What, exactly, constitutes "the service motion"? I ...
user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
1k views

Why do many tennis players crouch-then-uncrouch before receiving a serve?

I’ve been watching quite a lot of tennis this year, and I’ve been noticing a tendency among many professional tennis players—particularly noticeable in women players, for some reason—to crouch down ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Tennis movement while opponent is serving?

Our opponent was serving to my partner. I was moving my feet in place just to keep from being sedentary. Not wildly, just kind of shuffle back and forth in place. The server missed and blamed me ...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
211 views

Is the ball allowed to hit the receiver's side more than once in a table tennis serve

Upon making a legal serve over the net in table tennis, can the ball hit the receiver's side more than once? And, if so can it spin back and hit the net on the receiver's side?
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

How important is the opening service in a game of badminton?

Background (aka motivation): In chess, there are only two players. In (singles) badminton too, there are only two players. Both face off against each other. In chess, each player has a particular play-...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

Doubles serve rules in table tennis

In doubles table tennis does the rules allow you to serve to the side of the table (red line) or only to the end of the table (green line)? Player B is serving.
user avatar
  • 121
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

Is it a let in table tennis if the serve lands on the opponents side, but hits the net on it's way back towards the server?

Imagine this, you serve in table tennis with a lot of backspin. So much backspin, that the ball (when served) bounces once on your side then once on your opponents side, but hits the net on it's way ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
251 views

Serve deflected to the left hand court in a doubles match, is it a let?

In a doubles match, is it a let if a serve goes to the left hand court after touching the net? What if the ball was heading for the right hand court and there was enough spinning to deflect it to ...
user avatar
  • 145
4 votes
1 answer
4k views

How does the serving and swapping side cycle work after the first set?

I know that when you start a match, you spin the racket or toss a coin and decide who serves first and who goes on what side. If you finish a set that's not a multiple of 4, say 6-3, does the person ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
1k views

Is it allowed to throw the ball and then catch it again in a table tennis serve?

Suppose a table tennis player goes to serve. They throw the ball but for whatever reason decide not to play it. Instead they catch it with their hand. Is this a service fault and therefore a point ...
user avatar
  • 111
2 votes
1 answer
165 views

Is there such a thing as a "body fault" when serving?

We know that a foot fault is when your foot touches the baseline before you make contact with the ball. However, what if your feet are planted, and your toss meets or exceeds the baseline, forcing you ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
3k views

In table tennis, can you serve from the side of the table provided the ball is being hit from outside of the playing surface

Now I know that in TT, you have to serve the ball from behind the table and above the playing surface. My question is, can I stand sideways to the Table and make the serve provided my ball is still ...
user avatar
  • 143
2 votes
1 answer
465 views

Can an opponent catch the shuttle before it hits the ground on a serve?

I know that when serving I must serve diagnally, but my opponents have a habit of catching the shuttle in midair when they think its going to land in the wrong section. It feels especially unfair when ...
user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

Why do different genders serve differently?

Why do most female badminton players go for the long service whereas male players go for the short service? I've observed this in various tournaments including the Rio Olympics. Is more advantageous ...
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
6k views

Serving Changes in Table Tennis [duplicate]

In table tennis, the serve changes after every 5 serves. But I don't understand that rule. If A wins a rally, A get 1 point. After that, if B wins a rally, B get 1 point. Now, who should do the next ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

What are the rules if the receiver isn't ready for the serve in table tennis?

I cannot find mention of anything about the receiver being ready or not when the serve takes place. I have known a lot of players that hustle the speed of the game somewhat, repeatedly serving when ...
user avatar
  • 502
5 votes
2 answers
375 views

If a let was considered a valid serve, could it be a useful serving strategy?

If a let was considered a valid serve, would professional tennis players be able to accurately hit the net cord and have the ball drop into the service box, often enough to make it worth while? Would ...
user avatar
  • 1,426
5 votes
1 answer
942 views

In badminton, is it legal to receive a service out of zone?

You have to stand in your receiving rectangle for the service. Does this mean that you cannot leave it until you've properly received and sent back the shuttle?
user avatar
  • 153
3 votes
3 answers
7k views

Is there a difference between a service winner and an ace in tennis?

As a tennis player and fan myself, this has always been a question that I have wondered about. I know that an ace is when a serve that is in the box goes through untouched. Is a service winner a serve ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
3k views

Why do servers bounce the ball before serving?

I've participated in a volleyball tournament, and noticed that servers (especially those doing overhand serves) bounced the ball twice before starting the serve. Why do servers do this?
user avatar
  • 987
4 votes
1 answer
9k views

Is the Doubles Long Service Line active during a Singles match?

What are the rules during serving with respect to the Doubles Long Service Line? Can I serve beyond that in a Doubles match? In a Singles match?
user avatar
  • 175
2 votes
0 answers
60 views

Table Tennis Double 'Let' Rules [duplicate]

Imagine a table tennis board divided into the usual 4 rectangles. From top-left going clockwise we have A1, A2, B2 and B1 (in that order). B1, B2 and A1, A2 are on opposite sides of the net. In a ...
user avatar
  • 1,987
4 votes
2 answers
12k views

In squash, can a ball hit the sidewall after striking with the front wall in serve?

In a serve, a ball must hit the front wall first, and then it should fall into the opponent's half. But before falling into opponent's half, if the ball touches the side wall, will the serve be ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

The receiver moved his foot as I was serving in badminton. Is it legal?

There are always a lot of mind games around the service procedure in badminton. Last week I played a guy who twitched his foot every time I was serving. I found this very distracting at the critical ...
user avatar
  • 171
6 votes
1 answer
767 views

What are different types of serve strategies in squash?

I am quite new to playing squash. As I watch professional matches on YouTube, I notice quite a few different types of serves. As the title states, what are the different types of serve strategies in ...
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
80 views

What causes the imbalance where back points towards the side after serving?

I am analysing the serving here where the player gets angular momentum not towards the field but to the side. where you see back pointing towards the side, bad. In comparison Federer 1m12s gets the ...
user avatar
  • 1,870
2 votes
1 answer
89 views

Should a re-serve be called if Referee and Line Judge disagree?

It was the last game of a volleyball tournament when a serve hit the baseline of the opponent's court - as to me it seemed. From the referee's perch, she instantly called it out. But then the line ...
user avatar
  • 987