Questions tagged [serve]

Questions about serving, the act of starting play. This tag must be combined with the sport in question.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
2answers
73 views

Why don't some people serve from directly behind the line but sometimes one or more meters behind it?

Since most people serve from directly behind the line I was surprised to notice that it's not always the case. Why would someone serve from further back?
14
votes
1answer
22k views

Are overhead (tennis-like) serves allowed in squash?

When I watch others play squash (in-real-life or on youtube) I never see them serve what I refer to as over-the-head, much like the serves in tennis. I wonder if there is a reason for that. Is it so ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

How does the serving and swapping side cycle work after the first set?

I know that when you start a match, you spin the racket or toss a coin and decide who serves first and who goes on what side. If you finish a set that's not a multiple of 4, say 6-3, does the person ...
0
votes
0answers
20 views

Who will serve the opening game of a set? [duplicate]

Who will serve the opening game in set 2 after tennis player A served the first game of set 1. But tennis player B served the last game in set 1.
5
votes
1answer
216 views

Are underarm serves fair in tennis? If so, why are they looked upon as a means of disrespect?

As my title says all about the question, are underarm serves a fair thing in tennis? Because the reaction of Chris Garin says me otherwise when Alexander Bublik served him an underarm serve. I was ...
2
votes
3answers
755 views

Safe volley grip and serving grip in Tennis?

Which is a correct and safe volley grip aka serving grip in Tennis? One where hand is clearly on the handle or the one where some fingers are resting on the handle? Images screenshot from the video ...
3
votes
2answers
97 views

How do you do a kick serve?

I typically do a hard flat first serve and then a slice second serve, but I'm curious to know the fundamentals behind adding "kick" to a serve for higher bounce.
2
votes
1answer
72 views

Double tennis serve hits opponent purposely [duplicate]

From the video Jelena Ostapenko hits Alize Cornet with a serve and wins point! | Wimbledon 2019, we can see that the serve has given a point. I wonder if they revenge back by serving the tennis ball ...
0
votes
1answer
57 views

Doubles positioning at the net during serve

In doubles (particularly at a 3.0 or 3.5 level), what should the net players consider when choosing where to position during the serve?
13
votes
3answers
3k views

Stomping after a table tennis serve or follow through?

I often see a lot of veterans stomp their feet after hitting the ball. Why would one want to stomp after hitting the ball? Is this purely a stylistic issue? Or does it improve ones follow-through? ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Is there a tennis statistic about set-winners depending on who serves first?

I have a feeling that serving first in a set is an advantage. Is there a statistic like "X % of the sets were won by the player who served first"?
2
votes
1answer
129 views

Can I bounce the ball before serving in squash?

In squash, while serving, can I drop the ball on the floor from my hand and then hit for the serve on the bounce? Or is it mandatory to release the ball from the hand and directly hit it from the ...
1
vote
1answer
65 views

Can you choose to play a fault serve in racquetball?

Scenario: My opponent serves the ball short, but I'm in a good position to return it. Does a fault serve automatically end the rally? Or can I choose to return the serve and continue the rally?
16
votes
1answer
12k views

Are consecutive let (net services) allowed in Table tennis?

Is a point awarded to my opponent if I serve two lets in a row? Or can I serve as many let serve as I want until one of my services is legal or illegal?
2
votes
0answers
60 views

Table Tennis Double 'Let' Rules [duplicate]

Imagine a table tennis board divided into the usual 4 rectangles. From top-left going clockwise we have A1, A2, B2 and B1 (in that order). B1, B2 and A1, A2 are on opposite sides of the net. In a ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Is it a "let" if the ball touches the net then bounces back in table tennis?

There's been an argument with several friends about what happens after a serve. I'm aware If the ball touches the net and makes it to the opponent's side of the table, it's a re-serve. If the ball ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Are there "Lets" in table tennis?

In tennis if I serve the ball and it goes into the opposite service box, but hits the net on the way, it is a let. Is there such a thing as a let in table tennis?
9
votes
2answers
617 views

Receiving rules on a serve in table tennis

Does the reciever need to wait for the ball to bounce on the table before hitting it back to the opponent? My question refers to both singles and doubles.
5
votes
1answer
1k views

What are the rules if the receiver isn't ready for the serve in table tennis?

I cannot find mention of anything about the receiver being ready or not when the serve takes place. I have known a lot of players that hustle the speed of the game somewhat, repeatedly serving when ...
1
vote
2answers
6k views

Serving Changes in Table Tennis [duplicate]

In table tennis, the serve changes after every 5 serves. But I don't understand that rule. If A wins a rally, A get 1 point. After that, if B wins a rally, B get 1 point. Now, who should do the next ...
3
votes
2answers
463 views

Time limit to serve

Is there a time limit within which you have to serve the ball? I experienced a strange game where one of the players just turned his back (as he was about to serve) to his opponent and said you ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Is it allowed to throw the ball and then catch it again in a table tennis serve?

Suppose a table tennis player goes to serve. They throw the ball but for whatever reason decide not to play it. Instead they catch it with their hand. Is this a service fault and therefore a point ...
2
votes
2answers
176 views

Is the ball allowed to hit the receiver's side more than once in a table tennis serve

Upon making a legal serve over the net in table tennis, can the ball hit the receiver's side more than once? And, if so can it spin back and hit the net on the receiver's side?
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Why do different genders serve differently?

Why do most female badminton players go for the long service whereas male players go for the short service? I've observed this in various tournaments including the Rio Olympics. Is more advantageous ...
4
votes
1answer
8k views

Is the Doubles Long Service Line active during a Singles match?

What are the rules during serving with respect to the Doubles Long Service Line? Can I serve beyond that in a Doubles match? In a Singles match?
3
votes
1answer
1k views

The receiver moved his foot as I was serving in badminton. Is it legal?

There are always a lot of mind games around the service procedure in badminton. Last week I played a guy who twitched his foot every time I was serving. I found this very distracting at the critical ...
5
votes
1answer
925 views

In badminton, is it legal to receive a service out of zone?

You have to stand in your receiving rectangle for the service. Does this mean that you cannot leave it until you've properly received and sent back the shuttle?
2
votes
1answer
436 views

Can an opponent catch the shuttle before it hits the ground on a serve?

I know that when serving I must serve diagnally, but my opponents have a habit of catching the shuttle in midair when they think its going to land in the wrong section. It feels especially unfair when ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How important is the opening service in a game of badminton?

Background (aka motivation): In chess, there are only two players. In (singles) badminton too, there are only two players. Both face off against each other. In chess, each player has a particular play-...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

In table tennis, can you serve from the side of the table provided the ball is being hit from outside of the playing surface

Now I know that in TT, you have to serve the ball from behind the table and above the playing surface. My question is, can I stand sideways to the Table and make the serve provided my ball is still ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

What is the difference between the statistics "First service" and "First service won"?

I am confused about these two statistics: - First service - First service won Can anyone tell what is the difference between them?
2
votes
1answer
160 views

Is there such a thing as a "body fault" when serving?

We know that a foot fault is when your foot touches the baseline before you make contact with the ball. However, what if your feet are planted, and your toss meets or exceeds the baseline, forcing you ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Missing the ball after throwing it up to serve in table tennis

Do you lose a point if you throw the ball up during a serve but miss while trying to hit it?
2
votes
1answer
94 views

What are the most serve attempts for a single tennis point?

In Tennis, you usually have 2 attempts for a service. however under certain circumstances there are more serves made fot one single point, for example when the ball touches the net and then enters ...
2
votes
1answer
246 views

Serve deflected to the left hand court in a doubles match, is it a let?

In a doubles match, is it a let if a serve goes to the left hand court after touching the net? What if the ball was heading for the right hand court and there was enough spinning to deflect it to ...
2
votes
1answer
197 views

When is the ball on the correct side in double table tennis serve?

I know that you must serve from server right side to receiver right side and all that. But when exactly is the ball counted as 'in' regarding the middle line. Is it the center of the ball or is it ...
2
votes
1answer
879 views

Two-handed "attack" return on a serve?

So I went over the Volleyball Canada rulebook for 2018-2019, but I couldn't find anything about a certain situation that occurs often when I play volleyball with friends/colleagues. What will ...
-2
votes
1answer
63 views

Referee reaction for blocked service

Blocking a service obviously is not allowed and barely present in competitive volleyball. but it is one of the possible errors. how will the main referee show that (as per, brushing finger tips for ...
3
votes
3answers
7k views

Is there a difference between a service winner and an ace in tennis?

As a tennis player and fan myself, this has always been a question that I have wondered about. I know that an ace is when a serve that is in the box goes through untouched. Is a service winner a serve ...
0
votes
2answers
231 views

Is it ok to stop my serve when I've already started my racquet forward?

In a match last night, I was serving, threw the ball in the air, and started swinging my racquet. Just before I hit the ball, I stopped my racquet and caught it because I didn't like the toss. Did I ...
9
votes
2answers
34k views

What happens when ball touches net during serving?

I found some information on rules, but I never found a clear answer to what should be done when a served ball touches the net. Is it point for opponent, or should the serve be redone? If redone - will ...
2
votes
1answer
159 views

Why don't professional squash players give hard serves?

I find it odd that in Squash championships, players don't put much energy into the serve. It seems to me that their serve is about half the speed of their fast shots during the game. Is there any rule ...
1
vote
1answer
116 views

Serving over the sideline

As far as I know in table tennis, it is not allowed to serve over the sideline i.e. on the first hit of the ball, it is not allowed that the ball will go over the side of the table on the opponents ...
8
votes
1answer
39k views

Who serves when in table tennis?

I have never understood who serves first, and when it switches, in table tennis. Could anyone explain it?
3
votes
1answer
896 views

Why do many tennis players crouch-then-uncrouch before receiving a serve?

I’ve been watching quite a lot of tennis this year, and I’ve been noticing a tendency among many professional tennis players—particularly noticeable in women players, for some reason—to crouch down ...
4
votes
2answers
6k views

Who calls tennis serves in or out when no referee is present?

Regarding doubles match: On our opponent's second serve to me, I called it out. Our opponents contested my call. My partner said she did not see exactly where the ball bounced. Our opponents said ...
1
vote
1answer
601 views

Can I return a squash serve on the volley?

When my opponent is serving in squash, if I want to return the serve, can I volley this ball back to them? That is, without the ball hitting the floor (opponent serves > front wall > I volley the ball ...
1
vote
1answer
101 views

What are the fundamentals of a serving toss in tennis?

On my tennis serve, how do I properly and consistently do the ball toss?
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Double table tennis serve rules

In double table tennis does rules allow to serve in to table side (red line) or only in to green ? Player B is serving.
3
votes
2answers
3k views

In tennis, what is the percentage of broken service games?

Looking at Befair tennis, what is the percentage of broken service games? If both players are fairly evenly matched, how many times does a player lose his service game?