Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [softball]

Questions about the sport of softball.

1
vote
2answers
59 views

Forced Out at Third Base

There’s a runner on first. The batter hits a ball to left field. Runner on first advances to second, hitter decides to round first and advance to second as well forcing runner on second to now advance ...
1
vote
1answer
59 views

Does a batter lose RBI credit for a runner's missed base?"

There is a lot of talk about an appeal play for a missed base with or without runners on base. The problem is no one is talking about the what the batter is credited with. In our case with 2 outs and ...
0
votes
2answers
107 views

Ways to chalk a grass baseball field?

We are having a baseball game with ~20 friends and are using a school's baseball field. Anyone is allowed to use the field. However, it is all grass and doesn't have any chalk lines. Is there anyway ...
-3
votes
1answer
1k views

Softball foul ball rules [closed]

If a ball is hit fair, but rolls foul before passing third of first then is it foul or fair ?I am asking this because this happened and my P.E. teacher called the ball fair, and I believe that it is ...
4
votes
1answer
110 views

Forced at second: is the double play legitimate?

Situation: Runners are at first and second, with one out. The ball is hit to short, and the Shortstop catches it on the short hop. The runner, that was originally on second, returns to second ...
1
vote
1answer
158 views

Fair or Foul Ruling

Just looking for confirmation on a fair or foul ruling on a play I made in softball the other day. Batter hits the ball down the first base line with a lot of spin. The ball bounces once in fair ...
3
votes
1answer
941 views

Stolen bases in softball

Players are on 1st & 3rd . ball is pitched ,player on 1st runs to second but catcher doesn't throw it to second. Is this still counted as a stolen base?
6
votes
1answer
259 views

Base running in softball

First base is occupied. Batter hits the ball and is thrown out at first (first). Does the runner have to be tagged at second or is it a force out.?
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Is a ball which bounces into foul territory fair or foul?

In slow pitch senior softball, a ball is hit and lands fair between 1st & 3rd, then bounces left in the air foul. However the ball is caught before it hits the ground. Is it fair or foul?
3
votes
2answers
676 views

2 runners on base, lead runner misses a base and both runs score, correct ruling?

Runner on first and second, ball is hit to outfield, both the runner on first and second score on the outfield hit. The runner who was on second, misses touching third base, and scores, followed by ...
0
votes
2answers
318 views

Can a baseball/softball player change gloves mid-inning?

I play catcher for a very informal "beer-league" softball team, and have realized that I prefer different gloves at different points in the inning. With no one on base, I want a big outfielder type ...
4
votes
1answer
804 views

Softball, foul ball not caught and over thrown back to pitcher can runners advance?

Runner on base, batter hits a foul ball which is not caught. catcher throws ball back to pitcher, pitcher misses throw ball goes to outfield. can runners advance?
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Weight training for a strong throwing arm

I'm a 40+ softballer and cricketer. I've always had a "strong arm" in both sports (as well as in baseball), although I'm not muscular or big at all. But, I'm not too happy with my recent long-distance ...
4
votes
3answers
418 views

Particularly unconventional fielding positioning in baseball/softball

I have never seen fielders in positions that would hardly be recognisable as the "standard" positions, and probably for good reason. (I mean a positioning where a casual observer might have difficulty ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it illegal to field/pitch with a batting glove inside a regular glove?

I think I saw a recent world championship (or something like it) game where the pitcher was summoned to remove her "inner" glove (after a few pitches). Is there a rule?
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Are fielders (non-catchers) allowed to start from foul territory, and where should the catcher be?

Are fielders (not being the catcher) allowed to start in foul territory? This is actually something that I did. As a left outfielder I played/started on foul territory, because of a very strong and ...