Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [wicket]

Questions about wickets, or a set of stumps and bails, the pitch, or the dismissal of a batsman, in cricket.

1
vote
1answer
37 views

Is an absent batsman out?

One of the opposition batsmen failed to turn up. Is he out? This matters especially for my competition where teams receive 0.25 points for each wicket taken.
3
votes
1answer
63 views

Is it out if the batsman loses his bat on reaching crease and a run-out is effected at the same moment?

There are two scenarios in question here: Batsman extends and drags his bat to inside the crease. But just as he dragged in, he lost the bat from his hands and his whole body is still outside the ...
1
vote
1answer
52 views

Will this be given as out or not?

If the batsman tries to hit a six and it goes to the hands of a fielder, the fielder steps on the boundary line before catching the ball and then comes back to catch the ball and catches it cleanly, ...
0
votes
1answer
84 views

Who took the most wickets in 1 over in cricket?

Who took the most wickets in 1 over in cricket? I got to know that Muhammad Aamir is not the right answer; there is someone else who took more wickets than him.
4
votes
2answers
432 views

Who will take strike for this particular situation, when striker is out Caught in the boundary?

Today while we were playing, we had a following situation, Striker hits the ball and gets caught in the boundary Non-Striker crossed the center of the pitch and the Striker too. Striker is out of ...
1
vote
1answer
297 views

If the batsman gets out hit wicket, but the bowler bowls a no ball, is the wicket rescinded?

Wondering because if the batsman hits his own stumps, most of the time it isn't directly due to the bowler. Hit wicket in on itself is a fairly rare form of dismissal anyway.
2
votes
2answers
445 views

Is there any rule against full cover in cricket?

In cricket, batsmen usually take guard, but they do so in order to know where they are aiming the ball etc. But the other day one of my friends said that I am not supposed to fully cover the wickets. ...
2
votes
1answer
243 views

Is retired out counted in the bowling average?

Is 'retired out' counted in the 'bowling average' of a bowler?
3
votes
1answer
98 views

Other than a run out, how can a player be dismissed when a run is scored?

Other than a run out, is there a way in cricket where a player is but the team gets a run? I'm asking this as I once saw "W+1" on a scoresheet and wondered how that was possible.
6
votes
2answers
745 views

Why do bowlers go so near the crease?

Going so near the crease makes no-balls more likely. Disadvantages : A penalty run is given away. Maybe more runs if the batsman can hit it. Maybe more runs in the next penalty ball. In 20-20 format, ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a batsman be run out after the ball is dead?

Can a batsman be run out after an umpire signals over? My friend was batting outside the crease, and the ball went to a fielder. He was not taking a run. The umpire called Over and my friend went to ...
4
votes
2answers
914 views

Calculation of runs after the umpire decision gets reviewed

During the last match between Sri Lanka and South Africa. Jayawardane was given out as LBW and the ball went for boundary after got hit the pads. The batsman reviewed it. The decision was reversed, ...
10
votes
2answers
5k views

Change of strike in case of batsman is bowled?

Our bowler banged it in short of length, in line with the off stump, and the batsman swings across the line sending the ball straight up over the pitch. Both batsmen immediately set off for the run ...
-2
votes
1answer
3k views

What is the length of a cricket bail?

What is the length of a cricket Bail? How many types of Bail are there in cricket? How many length of Bails in cricket?
2
votes
1answer
114 views

Why are the bails taken-off from the stumps?

Why are the bails taken-off from the stumps at the break time & end of the day of a Test-match?
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Is it allowed to take the LED stumps to home after winning the match?

Is it permitted for a player to take the LED stumps or at least bails to home after winning the match at least in the final? I heard it costs Rs. 25 lakhs.
3
votes
3answers
3k views

How does the LED stumps help in Cricket?

In recent matches I can see that LED stumps are used in twenty twenty world cup. Heard that it is very costly. Why do they use that? Does it help for anything or only for fun?
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Who will take the strike if the striker is run out on the last ball of the over?

What will happen in cricket in case of last ball run out scenario of the striker? Which batsmen will face the first ball of the next over?
5
votes
1answer
263 views

Can a batsman hit the ball after getting bowled in a no-ball or free hit ball?

This can be easily done in slow/medium pace deliveries. Consider a batsman getting bowled in a no-ball or a free-hit ball and the ball remains near the batsman. Is it allowed to hit the ball with ...
4
votes
3answers
5k views

Is it allowed to hit the ball twice to save the wicket?

If the batsman hit the ball and hits the ball while going to the wicket if he stops the ball by the bat he is out or not out?
1
vote
1answer
621 views

Can the striker be dismissed, Caught, if the ball is deflected off an umpire? [duplicate]

Can the striker be dismissed, Caught, if the ball is deflected off an umpire before that fielder takes the catch?
8
votes
5answers
1k views

Dismiss 10 players in an over in unique ways without conceding a run

I read a problem in the newspaper around 10 years back. Here is the problem Team A scored 250 runs for 9 wickets in 50 overs. Team B was 250 for 0 in 49 overs. Eventually Team A won the match by ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

On a no ball, can both batsmen carry the stumps and run forever?

When a bowler oversteps (or in rare cases, has the back foot touching the return crease) during the delivery stride, the umpire usually calls a no ball while the ball is still in play. On hearing this ...
6
votes
2answers
7k views

What is the difference between “retired out” and “retired not out” in cricket?

I have seen the terms on scoreboard like: "retired out" or "retired not out". What does it mean and what is the different between there? Reference: Mohammad Hafeez was retired out in ICC Champions ...
4
votes
2answers
635 views

Is it a runout if both the batsmen have reached the same end and at the same end the stump is broken?

The situation is as below: -------|---------------------------- | stump |batsmen2 broken|batsmen1 here | -------|---------------------------- Is it a runout in the above situation?
4
votes
2answers
54k views

10 wickets in an innings in international matches

Jim Laker and Anil Kumble are the only 2 players who have taken 10 wickets in an innings in Test matches. Is there any other bowler who has taken 10 wickets in an innings in any kind of international ...
8
votes
3answers
10k views

Who is out if both batsmen end up at the same end and at the other end fielders hit the stumps?

Consider the following situation, Batsmen A and B are playing, A is facing the ball and hits the ball inside the ground. Both of them running between the wickets and meet at the centre of the pitch, ...
7
votes
2answers
11k views

Run Out without bails

A batsman is Run out if at any time while the ball is in play no part of his bat or person is grounded behind the popping crease and his wicket(bails) is fairly put down by the opposing side. ...
8
votes
2answers
4k views

Who is run out if both batsmen are out of their grounds?

See following image. Who is Run-out? A is crossed the crease and B is crossed half of the pitch. Run-out happening in B's side. Then who is out? A or B?
4
votes
2answers
3k views

Is this a dismissal by hit wicket?

Consider the following situation, A batsman's bat breaks while hitting the ball after which a piece of the bat flies in the air, hits the stumps and the bails fall down. Is this a dismissal by ...
5
votes
4answers
16k views

Hat-trick rules for different match/innings

If a bowler takes wicket in the last ball of an over and takes other two wickets in the first two balls of the next over then it is considered as Hat-trick. But what if a bowler takes last two ...
2
votes
1answer
7k views

Rules for hat-trick while bowling

I define a hat-trick as "three successes of the same kind". If a bowler bowls a wide ball/dead ball in between consecutive wickets ie, W W Wd W Will it be a hat-trick wicket? What about the ...
10
votes
1answer
11k views

Stumping from fast bowling?

Is it possible to dismiss a batsman by stumping off a fast bowler with the wicket keeper not standing up to the stumps? To be more specific, for stumping a batsman, is it mandatory to keep the ball ...
9
votes
2answers
18k views

What is the rule for wide ball during reverse hit or switch hit?

It is permitted for a batsman to reverse or switch his bat from right to left or vice versa for getting runs. If they missed the ball means, what is the rule there regarding wide? To be more clear, ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Is this a run out?

If a batsman hits the ball inside the ground and begins running between the wickets and now the ball is thrown back to the Fielder/Bowler/WK(FBWK) If the FBWK catches the ball in one hand and hits ...
12
votes
4answers
8k views

Two dismissals off a single ball

Is it possible to dismiss both batsmen off the same delivery (i.e., by a catch and a run out)? If the ball touched the lower end of the bat, edged up and touched the bat again, will it be given out? ...
23
votes
4answers
2k views

Would a catch that rebounded off a flying bird be a fair catch in Cricket?

Lets say a batsman hits a shot and in midway it hits a bird in the air and then as soon as it hits the bird, the ball starts falling down and is caught by a fielder, will the batsman be given out? I ...