Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Favorites infavorites:mine
infavorites:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with Search options user 96

Questions about the application and enforcement of rules and regulations by the officials engaged in a sport. Questions must also be tagged for the specific sport and/or competition.

3
votes
First of all, your premise is wrong: In tennis, the exact Rule 12 of ITF Rules of Tennis is: If a ball touches a line, it is regarded as touching the court bounded by that line. Note that the ma …
answered Apr 10 '14 by Mormegil
4
votes
As soon as the ball has wholly crossed the goal line (or touch line) whether on the ground or in the air, it is out of play. [Law 9] And, fouls are called only for offences which are committed by a pl …
answered Dec 19 '15 by Mormegil
3
votes
If we would consider the play under standard (FIVB) rules, there is no issue here at all; the blocking players did not even touch the ball. The “reaching over the net” rule refers only to playing the …
answered May 17 '16 by Mormegil
2
votes
Update: The below answer was valid at the time it was posted, however, the rules changed dramatically, and now any contact with the net by a player between the antennae, during the action of playing t …
answered Apr 22 '14 by Mormegil
11
votes
Obviously, at the moment your teammate touches the ball, you are in an offside position (supposing all defenders are further from the goal, otherwise you wouldn’t be asking, I guess). But being in an …
answered Jun 23 '16 by Mormegil
11
votes
The crucial question here is whether Jelavić received the ball after it rebounded to him off an opponent, or if the opponent played the ball. Because the Laws of the Game define offside as (Law 11, p …
answered Jun 12 '12 by Mormegil
2
votes
Your first option is correct. FIVB Official Volleyball Rules 2013–2016, article 12.4.3: At the moment of the service hit or take-off for a jump service, the server must not touch the court (the en …
answered Apr 10 '14 by Mormegil
7
votes
I would point out that, according to a strict reading of the Laws of the Game, if none of the referees (including the fourth official) has seen the infringement, the referee should not decide based on …
answered May 3 '12 by Mormegil