This is mostly to encourage more at bats to end with a ball in play. Baseball is most exciting when a batter can put a ball in play. It also gives the batter a slight advantage in that he can continue to foul pitches that he cannot achieve solid contact with and "keep himself alive." This balances the pitcher's competitive advantage of knowing where the ball ...
I took an umpiring class this past Spring (2012), so I can offer what we were taught.
Regardless of whether a pitch is a strike or a ball, we were taught to wait a "tick" to be sure of what we've seen. If nothing else, this mindset helps one watch the pitch all the way into the glove.
If the call is a strike, one should rise from the slightly crouched ...
It is much easier to make contact with a pitch on a bunt than with a regular swing. The foul out on a bunt rule basically exists to speed up play and prevent gamesmanship on the part of the batter.
If the batter could always bunt on strike two then batters like the pitcher and other poor hitters would walk significantly more often because it is easier for ...
The exception about first base being unoccupied is to prevent a catcher from intentionally dropping a third strike and then getting a double-play. If there are two outs, that prevention isn't necessary.
As for the reasoning behind the rule itself, I can't find a definitive resource, but speculation is that an out needs a successful defensive player and an ...
Absolutely. From the 2018 MLB 0fficial Rules:
A player, or players, may be substituted during a game at any time the ball is dead.
When a batter leaves the game with two strikes against him, and the substitute batter
completes a strikeout, the official scorer shall charge the strikeout and the time at
bat to the ...
Sorry, I don't have a reference for this, but we studied this in Game Theory: statistically matching the outcome of equal opponents.
When you match any two opponents of absolutely equal skill, the contest should end a stalemate (i.e. the rules should not give advantage to one over the other).
In baseball, if a hypothetically "perfect" pitcher could throw ...
Technically the play cannot end with two runners on the same base.
If two runners are occupying the same base, then the trailing runner is considered "In Jeopardy", or able to be tagged out, and must either retreat to the previous base or, if it is occupied, the leading runner must advance a base.
However, if the trailing runner was forced to the base ...
According to the Official Baseball Rules posted on MLB.com, rule 7.03 states:
(a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is
alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be
out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base,
unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.
(b) If a runner is forced to ...
There is an interesting unwritten rule that actually gets contradicted in the official MLB rules. The "tie goes to the runner" claim is one that most baseball fans have heard.
Rule 6.05j states that "a batter is out when after a third strike or
after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he
touches first base."
So in this case the ...
Most Major League starting pitchers have between three and four different kinds of pitches that they can throw throughout the game. Examples are
The break and speed of these pitches vary quite dramatically so it's important for the catcher to know what's coming.
The reason that a pitcher has so ...
Lets say there are no outs and a runner on 3rd, and a ball is hit to the right fielder who dives for it near the foul line. The ball is still in fair territory when the player dives for the ball, but as he lands, the ball falls out of his glove in foul territory. The umpire should have made his decision first as to whether the ball was fair/foul (so lets say ...
There are several things, including a major one that you mentioned before which is the break of the curveball/slider.
Generally speaking, hitters can handle pitches on the inside portion of the plate better than the outside. Also, hitters can track and see a ball that is moving towards them better than away. So for a lefty on lefty (or righty on righty) ...
Wikipedia says, "In the event of forfeiture, the score is recorded as "9 to 0", as per rule 2.00 of the Major League Baseball Rules Book."
The major league rules (page 16) state, "A FORFEITED GAME is a game declared ended by the umpire-in-chief in favor of the offended team by the score of 9 to 0, for violation of the rules."
As for the number 9 - it seems ...
I think that rule 7.08e is the key here:
(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the
base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter
becoming a runner. However, if a following runner is put out on a
force play, the force is removed and the runner must be tagged to be
put out. The force is removed as soon ...
The verbiage is a little thick on these rules, so maybe some examples will help:
The winning pitcher is defined as the pitcher who last pitched prior to the half-inning when the winning team took the lead for the last time.
a. Exception 1, the starting pitcher must pitch at least 5 innings to be eligible for a win.
b. Exception 2, if a relief pitcher, who ...
You're not alone; sometimes even the commentators, who have the same "over-the-shoulder" long-lens view that the folks at home do, will simply refer to a pitch as a "breaking ball" if it drops sharply or curves outside, even though a number of specific pitches can do that.
The fundamental theory of pitching is that the batter gains an advantage over the ...
The run does not count. According to MLB rules:
4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES.
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (...
The MLB's Official Baseball Rules states in Rule 10.15:
10.15 STRIKEOUTS A strikeout is a statistic credited to a pitcher and charged to a batter when the umpire calls three strikes on a batter,
as set forth in this Rule 10.15. (a) The official scorer shall score a
strikeout whenever a batter:
is put out by a third strike caught
by the ...
WAR is a context used by leagues and ballparks independently to measure a baseball player's performance and relative value. As such, WAR can be used to compare players across different years and teams.
WAR is derived from weighted runs above average, or the number of runs a player contributes through both his offense and defense above and beyond your ...
The definition of WHIP or Walks plus Hits per Inning Pitched is the following per Wikipedia:
WHIP = (Walks + Hits)/(Innings Pitched)
Cautionary note: While WHIP is a common statistic in fantasy baseball, it's a rather poor tool for evaluating pitchers as it fails to account for something pitchers have little control over (BABIP).
According to this 2009 NY Times article about defensive indifference:
Defensive indifference is exactly what it connotes: a situation when a
team was unconcerned about preventing the runner from advancing. After
official scorers consider the score and the inning, if the pitcher
made pickoff attempts and if the first baseman was positioned behind
There are two ways to deliver a pitch from the mound:
Most pitchers will pitch out of the windup when there are no runners on base. It usually helps with the pitchers rhythm. They are able to use a high leg kick and deliver a pitch.
Some relievers will pitch out of the stretch whether or not there is a runner on base. This is ...
According to UmpiresMedia.com, getting a “head start” is considered illegal in professional baseball. Actually, it is listed in the rules you linked
Rule 5.09(c)(1) Comment (Rule 7.10(a) Comment): “Retouch,” in this
rule, means to tag up and start from a contact with the base after the
ball is caught. A runner is not permitted to take a flying start ...
Ice Hockey 6
Softball (mostly played with 10 players with an extra outfielder) 10
Volleyball 6 for indoor 2 for sand
Boblseigh = 2 or 4
Relay Racing - 4
I could go on but I trust you get the point.
Running through the list of complete game no-hitters on Wikipedia, there's only one loss by a pitcher that completed a no-hitter. As this page notes:
The only starting pitcher to lose a complete-game no-hitter was Ken
Johnson of the Houston Colt 45s (pre-Astros), who lost to Cincinnati
1-0 on April 23, 1964. Johnson's throwing error allowed Pete Rose ...
This has happened before, most notably the Grand Slam Single of the 1999 NLCS.
The Braves and Mets were tied 3-3 in the bottom of the ninth. The Mets loaded the bases, and Robin Ventura crushed a grand slam. He was mobbed at first base, and never touched second. Only Cedeno, the runner on third, actually touched home. Ventura was awarded a single, and the ...
Looks like Tony Womack's.
Here's a ball for sale:
And here are a couple cards:
EDIT : used this page on Baseball-Reference to identify players with number 12, then looked through initials to find matches to TW.