4

This will likely depend on which statistics organisation you ask - but the current de facto organisation for sporting stats is probably Opta. According to Opta, an assist is not awarded when an own goal is scored. This is described in their Event Definitions: Goal Assist The final touch (pass, pass-cum-shot or any other touch) leading to the recipient of ...


1

This doesn't seem particularly complicated: The referee determines if the contact was a foul or not. Obviously if it was a legal challenge, play continues or is restarted based on where the ball left the playing area and who contacted it last. Assuming it was a foul, the referee awards a direct free kick (if the offence occurred outside the penalty area) or ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible