Skip to main content
26 votes
Accepted

Why did Manuel Neuer leave the goal post and come to the midfield position in group qualifiers?

When Neuer left the German's penalty area, Germany were already losing 1-0 and going out of the World Cup. By effectively becoming an extra outfield player, he increased the chance of Germany scoring ...
Philip Kendall's user avatar
  • 24.5k
11 votes
Accepted

Can a goalkeeper chip the ball to the head of a teammate from a goal kick to circumvent the backpass restriction?

The IFAB issued a clarifiying statement on the matter. There has been much debate about whether, at a goal kick, the goalkeeper is permitted to ‘lift’ the ball to a team mate to head or chest it ...
E. Sommer's user avatar
  • 1,252
9 votes
Accepted

Do goalkeepers always go to the ground to collect a rolling ball?

Not a rule in any way, the goalkeeper can pick the ball up just about any way they like (if they're in their own penalty area, obviously). What they're trying to avoid here is any chance of a bobble ...
Philip Kendall's user avatar
  • 24.5k
8 votes
Accepted

Can a goalkeeper use his/her hands within the opponents penalty area?

In the Laws of the Game, Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct says the following (emphasis mine on first bullet): A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following offences: ...
Duncan's user avatar
  • 2,516
7 votes

Why did Manuel Neuer leave the goal post and come to the midfield position in group qualifiers?

Jens Lehmann did it before (National keeper before Neuer) when he scored for Schalke 04 against Dortmund. And here are a few more international ones and this is from my team's league. It is a common ...
dly's user avatar
  • 5,322
6 votes

When can a goalkeeper take the ball into their hands?

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct, Section 2 - Indirect Free Kick outlines when a goalkeeper may not deliberately handle the ball1 in their own penalty area. An indirect free kick is awarded if a ...
Reinstate Monica 2331977's user avatar
6 votes
Accepted

Can the goalkeeper release the ball at their own goal, then save it from going in?

That's correct. Handling the ball a 2nd time with no other player touching it would lead to an indirect free kick. Law 12: An indirect free kick is awarded if a goalkeeper, inside their penalty ...
dly's user avatar
  • 5,322
5 votes
Accepted

In football, what happens when a team commits an offence for which play need not be stopped, and then scores a goal immediately after?

Neither of the two suggested restarts are correct. The correct restart is a kick-off. The Laws would explicitly state that a goal was to be disallowed for either of these offences, just as it does ...
Reinstate Monica 2331977's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

Youngest goal keepers in the World Cup

This is based on FIFA World Cup squads as listed on Wikipedia. (So it also depends on the accuracy of the data on Wikipedia.) In connection with this, I should mention that for some players age and ...
5 votes
Accepted

How far out of the net can a goalie freeze the puck in the NHL?

The answer to this deals with the flow of the game, and specifically rule 63 "delay of game penalty" The explanation starts on page 88 and describes that a goaltender may use his equipment in the ...
Parker McA's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

Ice-hockey penalty shot saves

Regardless of when they are made, saves in hockey are defined by shots on goal. A shot, on the other hand is any puck directed toward the net. If the shot would have gone in the net without a save, ...
Jason P Sallinger's user avatar
4 votes

In football, what rules handle a player changing their position with the goalkeeper?

Law 3, part 4 of the IFAB Laws of the Game is straightforward and covers the first three points directly. Any of the players may change places with the goalkeeper if: the referee is informed before ...
Nij's user avatar
  • 8,043
4 votes
Accepted

Why do referees suddenly care so much whether or not the goalkeeper has a foot on the goal line during a penalty kick?

One simple answer: VAR. As it is still a new technology, referees are unsure of the extent they should review decisions. In the past, when VAR was not used, referees were free of blame (to some ...
Edward Gaskell's user avatar
4 votes

Why did Manuel Neuer leave the goal post and come to the midfield position in group qualifiers?

I should preface this by a disclaimer that I am by not means expert, just a regular fan who occasionally watches a game. You can often see Manuel Neuer playing outside of penalty box, basically in ...
Martin's user avatar
  • 5,851
4 votes

Do goalkeepers always go to the ground to collect a rolling ball?

Goalkeepers will go the ground for one of two reasons, to avoid a spill that an opponent can challenge for, or a minor error leading to the ball going past them they doubt they will collect it before ...
Nij's user avatar
  • 8,043
4 votes
Accepted

Keepers saving with the other hand

First rule of goalkeeping: get two hands on the ball. Only if you can't do that do you go with one hand - and if you are going with one hand, then you're already to some extent into "desperation&...
Philip Kendall's user avatar
  • 24.5k
4 votes

The goalkeeper finds the ball first with his hands, is it a penalty?

Most likely, this is not a foul by either player. Neither player appears to act in a way to meet any of the requirements for a direct free kick that would be relevant, as Law 12, section 1 Direct Free ...
Nij's user avatar
  • 8,043
3 votes

Do goalkeepers return faster than field players from injury in football?

In your case it will probably be equal. Don't underestimate how much a goalie's knee is being strained. The recovery time is the biggest key for an injury like that. If it's equal, then they will ...
dly's user avatar
  • 5,322
3 votes
Accepted

Is it legal to use a trick involving another player to pass the ball to the keeper without kicking it?

What you have described it not a trick, nor is it illegal. The first player has simply played an aerial pass to another defender. This is not a deliberate trick to circumvent the Law. The second ...
Reinstate Monica 2331977's user avatar
3 votes

In soccer, is it a foul if a player kicks a goalie's hand when trying to kick the ball?

Kicking the hand of the goalie definitely is a foul. No goal Direct free kick for your team Just like with most other challenges hitting an opponent while going for the ball is a foul, regardless of ...
dly's user avatar
  • 5,322
3 votes
Accepted

In Futsal, can a goalkeeper score with a drop kick (i.e. released from hands)?

Ball in Play Yes - The goalkeeper may score a goal with his feet from directly inside the goalkeeper’s penalty area when holding a ball in play. Law 10 The Method of Scoring ... A goal is ...
Ola Ström's user avatar
  • 1,060
3 votes

Have the three goalkeepers of a squad ever been used during a World Cup?

There already is an answer which provides several occurrences of this happening. (And which probably is complete until the source of that answer was published, which is shortly before 2010 FIFA World ...
3 votes
Accepted

Have the three goalkeepers of a squad ever been used during a World Cup?

Four teams (France, Belgium, Czechoslovakia and Greece) used their three goalkeepers: In all, only four teams have ever used three goalkeepers in a single World Cup tournament. That's out of 371 ...
Fair Player's user avatar
3 votes

Can a goalkeeper use his/her hands within the opponents penalty area?

As has been pointed out, the goalkeeper may only deliberately handle the ball within their own penalty area. Furthermore, if the goalkeeper attempts to score a goal with their hands in the opponents' ...
Reinstate Monica 2331977's user avatar
3 votes
Accepted

How often does pulling the goalie work?

Quoting from this FiveThirtyEight article, itself quoting Donald Morrison: "If you pull the goalie with two and a half minutes to go, you have a 19 to 20 percent chance of tying the game" That's a ...
Philip Kendall's user avatar
  • 24.5k
3 votes
Accepted

Who was that specific goalkeeper who was so agressive he earned a red card?

I've checked every match from Euro 96, World Cup '98, Euro 2000, and World Cup 2002. I can only find one goalkeeper who was sent off at any of those tournaments: Belgian goalkeeper Filip De Wilde, who ...
F1Krazy's user avatar
  • 3,868
3 votes

Can the goalkeeper play the ball again after missing a drop-kick release?

There's nothing in the rule book that forbids it: law 12 -- fouls and misconduct -- Indirect Free Kick. Fouls commited by the goalkeeper are: When the ball has been deliberately kicked back to them ...
OldPadawan's user avatar
2 votes

Youngest goal keepers in the World Cup

Your question is somewhat ambiguous. Not counting youth tournaments such as the U-17 and U-20 World Cups, the youngest goalkeeper ever to start in a World Cup was Cecilia Santiago of Mexico, born 19 ...
Davislor's user avatar
  • 161
2 votes

Why do referees suddenly care so much whether or not the goalkeeper has a foot on the goal line during a penalty kick?

In short: The rulebook has changed since the World Cup was played. This years Women's World Cup is being played under the 2019/20 Laws of the Game which have some significant changes from the ...
Storm 765's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible