We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Hot answers tagged

7

The simple answer is that there are very few chances for such a feat. Pitchers are usually replaced when they're being ineffective, not when they're doing a good job. I'd say you'd generally need have to have one of: Using an "opener" Injury to starting pitcher Hard pitch count limit to create such an opportunity. Otherwise the manager is going to tend ...


4

Baseball has a lot of "unwritten rules". One of these is that a pitcher who is in the midst of a possible no hitter is kept in the game until he completes the no hitter or gives up a hit. This is probably because throwing a no hitter of any sort is a rare feat, and a starting pitcher who is taken out of such a game may be upset if he is taken out and denied ...


3

It depends. The definition of an earned run is one that would have occurred "without the benefit of an error or a passed ball." The official scorer attempts to reconstruct the inning as it would have played out without errors and passed balls, and only the runs that score in that scenario count as earned. The scoring runner in your scenario may or may not ...


3

I am look[ing] for win and loss stats on [the] MLB website. As already noted, click the "Standings" tab. This contains win and loss statistics for every team for every date during a given season. You can also toggle between the wild card race, spring training standings, postseason projections (later in the season), division/league/MLB and standard/advanced....


2

You need to click on the "standings" tab:


2

Joey Gallo hit a pop up on April 21, 2019 against the Houston Astros that was measured by StatCast to have reached 207 feet at its apex and had a hang time of 7.3 seconds. Off the bat, the shortstop headed to short right field, but the wind brought the ball back to the infield and it dropped at the shortstop position for an infield base hit.


2

If you're referring to this game, then you can see that the winning run was scored in the top of the 7th inning. At that point, Lucchesi was still technically the pitcher as he hadn't yet been replaced -- which would happen in the bottom of the 7th. Since the winning run occurred while Lucchesi was still the pitcher in the game, he earned the win. The ...


1

This already happened. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2000_World_Series You can see from the link that they had the usual travel day between games 2 and 3. Note that MLB schedules these things way in advance so the TV networks can plan around them, so they won't change just because two teams are in the same city.


1

I was able to locate a Wikipedia page that addresses this scenario, though interpreting the ruling from the official rules is somewhat more difficult. Basically, the scenario you are asking about is considered "doubling a runner off" on a flyout which is considered a "time play" as opposed to a force play -- meaning the run would count. Anything that occurs ...


1

No A pinch hitter is a batter used as a substitute for another batter. A pinch hitter only comes into the game when the batter whose turn he is taking is due to bat. At that time, he is "announced into the game"; the batter which he replaced is out of the game for good. This clearly states that the batter replaced can not come back into the game, ...


1

Historically, the National League and American League have been separate entities where the only interleague action was the World Series. Indeed, a very long time ago, they were rival leagues. As such, they've had individual league presidents and umpires for the longest time and have only relatively recently merged those high level operations. And, of course,...


1

Has an MLB player ever won an MVP award without going to that year's All-Star game? Yes. Since the 1994 strike-shortened season (inclusive), the following have accomplished this feat: 2007 - Jimmy Rollins 2006 - Justin Morneau 1999 - Chipper Jones 1996 - Juan Gonzalez how often does it happen? Statistically, 4 out of 52 MVPs between 1994-2018 have not ...


1

Yes, that's quite possible and happens with some regularity. Kenley Jansen of the Dodgers recorded both a win and failed to record a save even though he entered the game eligible for one when pitching for the Dodgers on Sunday, April 21, 2019. In 2012, Fangraphs wrote an article suggesting that the rule be changed so that relief pitchers could not benefit ...


1

There are three teams in MLB history who have won the National League pennant but never won more than 5 games in a row during their winning season. The 2010 San Francisco Giants, 2011 St. Louis Cardinals and 2018 Los Angeles Dodgers all won the pennant with their longest winning streak being 5 games.


1

It seems the term "three true outcomes" goes back to humorous discussions on Usenet boards in the mid-1990's (see https://sabr.org/research/growth-three-true-outcomes-usenet-joke-baseball-flashpoint). The website baseball-reference.com attributes the first use of the term to Christina Kahrl in discussions about Rob Deer and his high propensity to have his ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible