Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

New answers tagged

1

No A pinch hitter is a batter used as a substitute for another batter. A pinch hitter only comes into the game when the batter whose turn he is taking is due to bat. At that time, he is "announced into the game"; the batter which he replaced is out of the game for good. This clearly states that the batter replaced can not come back into the game, ...


0

Historically, the National League and American League have been separate entities where the only interleague action was the World Series. Indeed, a very long time ago, they were rival leagues. As such, they've had individual league presidents and umpires for the longest time and have only relatively recently merged those high level operations. And, of course,...


1

Has an MLB player ever won an MVP award without going to that year's All-Star game? Yes. Since the 1994 strike-shortened season (inclusive), the following have accomplished this feat: 2007 - Jimmy Rollins 2006 - Justin Morneau 1999 - Chipper Jones 1996 - Juan Gonzalez how often does it happen? Statistically, 4 out of 52 MVPs between 1994-2018 have not ...


1

It seems the term "three true outcomes" goes back to humorous discussions on Usenet boards in the mid-1990's (see https://sabr.org/research/growth-three-true-outcomes-usenet-joke-baseball-flashpoint). The website baseball-reference.com attributes the first use of the term to Christina Kahrl in discussions about Rob Deer and his high propensity to have his ...


Top 50 recent answers are included