This is due to the advantage rule, From Laws of the Game - Law 5: The Referee - 3. Powers and Duties:
The referee allows play to continue when an offence occurs and the
non-offending team will benefit from the advantage and penalises the
offence if the anticipated advantage does not ensue at that time or
within a few seconds.
The referee allowed to ...
Yes, they can.
Example: During the 2012 UEFA Champions League final, Manuel Neuer of Bayern Munich took a penalty against Chelsea, when the game went into penalties.
Please refer this wikipedia link.
Also, when a game is being decided by penalties, then all players must have taken one penalty each, before a player can take a second penalty.
So, a goal ...
The accepted answer is great but I might add that in kicks from the penalty mark to decide a winner, all eligible players need to have taken a kick before a player may take a second kick.
This means that the goalkeeper not only can take a kick, but must take a kick before any of the other players take a second kick.
On page 55 of the 2014/15 FIFA Laws of the Game, in the Kicks from the Penalty Mark procedure, it says
Unless otherwise stated, the relevant Laws of the Game and International F.A. Board Decisions apply when kicks from the penalty mark are being taken.
This means that, since no other description is given, Law 14 (governing Penalty Kicks during the game)...
According to the Law 14 in the IFAB laws of the game:
The ball must be kicked forward
The penalty taker cannot touch the ball until another player has touched it
No player from either team (other than the goalie and the penalty taker) can enter the penalty area or penalty arc until the ball is kicked
Assuming Cruyff's teammate didn't enter the penalty area ...
Yes, absolutely. There are essentially only two major restrictions on play after a penalty kick:
The player taking the penalty kick must kick the ball forward
The kicker must not play the ball again until it has touched another player.
So long as those restrictions are met, the ball is in play as in normal play and anything goes.
The results, as presented on the webpage, are not that surprising. I downloaded the chart of all countries and ran a histogram of the performances (discounting countries that only had 1 or two shootouts, as they are a very small sample size). 54 countries had participated in 3 or more shootouts and here is the histogram.
It's a reasonable approximation of a ...
Of course it's legal and has happened many times other than the accepted answer's example. E.g José Luis Chilavert used to take penalties that were not even in penalty shoot-outs, as well as free kicks. See: Jose Luis Chilavert's international goals (YouTube).
It's way higher in soccer than ice hockey. In soccer, a penalty kick is quite close to an automatic goal, averaging around 85% in the English Premier League (source: My Football Facts), whereas in ice hockey, a penalty shot has a conversion rate of around about 30% (source: official NHL stats, via this excellent answer).
However, I'm not sure this is really ...
In penalty shootouts in association football, a format of sudden death is followed if after 5 penalty shots each, the scores are still tied. If the number exceeds 11* penalty kicks each without a winner, all players become eligible to take a second penalty kick. The order of penalty kick takers can be changed, but all 11* players must take a second kick ...
According to the IFAB Laws of the Game, Law 14 - The Penalty Kick, 1. Procedure:
The defending goalkeeper must remain on the goal line, facing the
kicker, between the goalposts until the ball has been kicked.
These kind of incidences actually happen quite rarely, the famous one being Bill Hamid of D.C. United saving 2 attempts from penalty kick in the ...
I shall leave details of the specific clauses that are relevant, and why this situation falls under their jurisdiction. Instead I shall address why you would want to design the rules like this:
If you give the foul, then the defending team has benefited from the foul.
A foul should never be more appealing than not-fouling.
Supposing you implemented the ...
Taken from the excellent Penalty Shootout Trivia:
In amateur and youth matches probably quite different records have been set; one particular instance went over the world in January 1998: a match for the Derby's Community Cup, a competition for nine and ten years old children, between Mickleover Lightning Blue Sox and Chellaston Boys finished 1-1, and the ...
From IFAB Laws of the Game, Law 14, part 2,
... play will be stopped and restarted with an indirect free kick, regardless of whether or not a goal is scored:
feinting to kick the ball once the kicker has completed the run-up (feinting in the run-up is permitted); the referee cautions the kicker
Thus, feinting during the run-up is permitted, but feinting ...
Yes, it is legal - and as someone already claimed, even required if all other players have taken theirs.
To give some examples: Manuel Neuer converted a penalty for Bayern Munich against Real Madrid (?) in the Champions League quite recently. There are also goalkeepers who take penalties during the game, such as Hans-Jörg Butt, who converted a penalty for ...
He leaves the goal line right when the shot is taken. This is quite normal behavior and accepted by the referees. It is very hard to see and the referee also has to watch the other players when they try to go after the ball too early, which makes it even harder.
While he's not standing exactly on the line (which is tolerated to some extent.. the referees ...
There are likely two possible reasons this technical breach of the Laws was not penalised.
The offence was so minor that the referee was unable to detect it.
The referee applied his discretion under Law 5, Section 2, Paragraph 1, deciding that it would be inappropriate to penalise such a minor offence with a caution and retake.
Law 5, Section 2, Paragraph ...
Considering Transfermarkt data on Premier League since 1992, I would say that the success rate has decreased over years.
Year | Success rate (%)
1992 | 93.4
1993 | 97.6
1994 | 91.7
1995 | 94.5
1996 | 95.3
1997 | 93.4
1998 | 90.7
1999 | 97.1
2000 | 91.4
2001 | 90.4
2002 | 96.2
2003 | 95.7
2004 | 92.3
2005 | 77.0
2006 | ...
You won't find any law against it because it is completely legal.
It is a bit of a stretch see how this could be a problem. Any controversy here would most likely arise from the goalkeeper placing the ball on an uneven section of turf in order to impair the kicker. If this was to happen, the kicker is then within their rights to place the ball however they ...
Beyond a high school varsity player cannot kick as hard or as accurate is that the high school player would be much more apt to give away kick positioning through their body language, strike approach, and certainly their leg/torso positioning on a follow through.
As a goalie in soccer for 15 years and some for a top 25 high school I can say that there are ...
The first penalty shoot out that England had was against West Germany at Italia 90. England of course lost.
Peter Shilton was the England keeper, who at exactly 6 foot tall is smaller than most keepers. His tactic in that penalty shoot out was to dive after the ball had been struck (rather than the usual method of picking a side). He dove the correct way ...
Here's another interesting one:
In 1989, referee Kelvin Morton awarded five penalties in a Crystal
Palace v Brighton game, a Football League record. Palace were awarded
four of the penalties, missed three but still won 2-1.
Source from Wikipedia
Here is the YouTube link of match highlights.
P.S: a tricky google search like missed 4 penalties or ...
I'm not sure if it's the team record, but Martin Palermo (in)famously missed three penalties for Argentina in a Copa America game against Colombia in 1999.
Here is the YouTube video of the incident.
There's detailed information for penalty shootouts at rsssf.com.
I finally found it! It was in Campeonato Paulista 2001 (Site in Portuguese).
There are some stuff that was a little bit blurry on my head:
I had the feeling that they would perform the shootout before the game.
Penalty shoot-out was actually after the game, only if the game was tied which makes much more sense. Otherwise the result of the shootout would ...
One simple answer: VAR.
As it is still a new technology, referees are unsure of the extent they should review decisions. In the past, when VAR was not used, referees were free of blame (to some extent) as the decision had to be made on the spot. However, as they are now allowed to review any major decision, they are now being criticized for not using it ...
Most likely, this is not a foul by either player.
Neither player appears to act in a way to meet any of the requirements for a direct free kick that would be relevant, as Law 12, section 1 Direct Free Kick defines the three manners as
Careless is when a player shows a lack of attention or consideration when making a challenge or acts without precaution. No ...
Regardless of when they are made, saves in hockey are defined by shots on goal.
A shot, on the other hand is any puck directed toward the net. If the shot would have gone in the net without a save, it is said to be a shot on goal. If the goaltender makes a save, it counts as a shot on goal. Any shot on goal is counted as a shot, but not all shots are ...
Apart from players already mentioned in the question (Zamora, Martins, Brehme), I couldn't find anyone else who scored penalty-kicks with both feet in top level football (let alone in top European leagues).
But, I have something juicier for you!
Simone Verdi has scored 2 free-kicks in one game with both feet for Bologna F.C. 1909, in a Serie A match of the ...
(e) is what would happen. There's no reason this would be interpreted any differently than the rules regarding a power play; in particular:
24.6 indicates that only one goal can be scored or awarded at a single stoppage of play, but the own-goal was scored prior to a stoppage of play (it was the cause of the stoppage of play; the play had continued due to ...