One official source: WPA rulebook.
Rule 3.8c says that the shooter loses if he pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket.
Furthermore, Rule 3.6 says that every shot must be called (except for the break) AND says that "The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter's group has been cleared from the table."
Therefore, you cannot ...
Assuming that you have not committed a standard foul otherwise, sinking the opponent's ball is not a foul in itself, so my interpretation of it is that you can continue with the game as you would have normally.
The following is an excerpt from World Pool-Billiards Association rulebook for 8-ball:
3.9 Standard Fouls If the shooter commits a foul, play ...
Calling a safety guarantees that the turn will pass to your opponent, even if you make a ball. This can be helpful when you know that you will make your ball, and then leave yourself in an untenable position (somewhere that you will not be able to make a legitimate shot, and will be forced to scratch), or if you can do the same to your opponent (...
8-Ball is a very popular game worldwide. However, as you noted in your question, there are competing sets of rules. Unlike other sports, there is no single authority for pool that sets the rules for this game.
The World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) is probably the most geographically widespread of the tournament organizations. The Association is made ...
In the USPPA Official 8-ball pool rules it says the following:
9.0 LOSS OF GAME
9.1 Opponent Wins
The opponent legally pockets the 8-ball.
9.2 8-Ball Foul
An 8-ball foul occurs when the 8-ball comes to rest off of the pool table, when the 8-ball is pocketed in the wrong pocket or out of sequence, or when the 8-ball is pocketed while a ...
TL;DR: Your room is too small to allow you to easily play pool.
These are the table dimensions and their respective recommended room dimensions:
Biliards and table bowls
260cm x 130cm table requires a 540cm x 410cm room
270cm x 135cm table requires a 550cm x 415cm room
280cm x 140cm table requires a 560cm x 420cm room
284cm x 142cm ...
Looking at the rules page of the World Pool-Billiard Association, your understanding is right. For the break, Groups are not yet determined.
3.3 (b) No ball is called, and the cue ball is not required to hit any particular object ball first.
After the break, you can determine your group by calling a ball and pocketing it. But the rules explicitly say ...
The Billiard Congress of America has a rule for a "jawed balls" situation:
3.33 JAWED BALLS
If two or more balls are locked between the jaws or sides of the pocket, with one or more suspended in air, the referee shall inspect the balls in position and follow this procedure: he shall visually (or physically if he desires) project each ball ...
According to Wikipedia, the term race in billiards means:
A predetermined, fixed number of games players must win to win a match; "a race to seven" means whomever wins seven games first wins the match.
Here is a file with some more examples:
First competitor to win 3 matches (race to 3)
First competitor to win 4 matches (race to 4)
The rules as defined at UPA are:
11.5 Hanging Ball
If an object ball hangs in a pocket and drops in 5 seconds or less after coming to complete rest by the hole, the ball is considered to be pocketed. If a hanging ball drops in the pocket after being at rest for more than 5 seconds, the ball is returned to the original position on the edge, and the ...
According to Wikipedia, a player will win if
The opposing player commits any foul, including scratching the cue ball into a pocket, or knocking it off the table, in the course of a shot that pockets the 8 ball
Therefore, you would lose because you scratch the cue ball into the pocket while pocketing the 8 ball.
I've been through exactly that experience. I expected to find it weird, but did not - proportionally, it's almost the same. In fact, what does feel strange is playing with a 9mm snooker cue, hitting US pool sized balls. It's easier (for me, anyway) to put unwanted side on the ball with a small tip.
Dr Dave Alciatore's page on cue tips gives more information ...
TL;DR: you're not playing under any even reasonably recent version of the English Pool Association rules, so we can't answer the question.
Under current English Pool Association rules (which are the same as the World Eight Ball Pool Association Rules), a foul when the black is "on" still results in the opponent receiving two visits to the table. A foul ...
In the World Pool-Billiard Association rules of 8-Ball, you only call one ball and one pocket on each shot. As long as that ball falls into that pocket, your turn continues. If it does not, your turn ends and your opponent takes over. Any balls that fall into pockets on your shot stay in the pockets.
If you intend to pocket two balls in one shot, you ...
There are multiple official rule books for 8-Ball. However, I believe that WPA, APA, and VNEA rules all agree on this.
Assuming that the 8-ball pocket was called correctly, and that the 8-Ball was the first ball contacted by the cue ball, and that no other fouls were committed, it doesn't matter that the opponent's ball was struck and pocketed by the 8-...
From WPA rules, the general rule for all types of called shot games contains:
1.6 Standard Call Shot
In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be
indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or
other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant.
Further, for 8-...
This is not a standard rule. According to the World Pool-Billiard Association rules, the only penalty for a foul is the following
3.9 Standard Fouls
If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface. (See 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand.)
The rule further ...
If the cue ball is shot and is resting on the rail, it is considered not in play.
According to the United States Professional Pool Players Association Rule 3.b, this occurrence would result in a break foul.
Break fouls include the following:
b. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table it is a foul and the non-breaking >player has cue ...
Under World Pool-Billiard Association rules, a shot ends when the balls stop moving. Therefore, the foul would be on the next shot.
This type of foul is called a Touched Ball, and in 8-Ball, it results in the play passing to the opponent with the cue ball in hand.
Therefore, in this situation, I believe that the table would not be considered open anymore, ...
By Pool, I take you are referring to a game of 8-ball (there are many variations of billiards games). As for your question, there are a few different ways that a player can foul on the eight ball. When fouling, the advantage is that the next player has ball in hand, allowing them to place the cue ball into a favorable position. So I would gladly have the ...
It depends what rules you play by. By Official pool rules, you would have ball in hand as they committed a foul.
3.9 Standard Fouls
If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.
On the Foul:
The following actions are ...
From the rule book:
Driven off the Table
A ball is considered driven off the table if it comes to rest other
than on the playing surface but is not pocketed. A ball is also
considered driven off the table if it would have been driven off the
table except for striking an object such as a light fixture, piece of
chalk or a player which causes ...
A standard pool table is 5 feet by 10 feet, leaving 1.5 feet at each side of it, if installed in your room.
The average person would struggle to walk around your table, let alone play on it.
There are smaller sizes of table, but given the standard cue of 4 to 5 feet and the need for at least half that distance in making a stroke from the cushion, you would ...
Thinking that the application be referred to the game eights-ball, the Regulation provides that the black ball is pocketed after you holed out his 7 balls.
According with World Pool-Billiard Association after having pocketed all their balls 7 is necessary, pocket the 8 ball (hit with the cue ball) in the declared hole.
There are several variants of this ...
If you go by http://www.epa.org.uk/wrules.php I think that your shot was a foul according to rule 1 b in section G on Legal Shots.
On all shots, the player must:
a. Cause the Cue Ball's initial contact with a ball to be with a ball "On", AND THEN
b. Pot a ball
"On" OR; Cause the Cue Ball or any Object Ball to contact a cushion.
In BCA eight ball each players calls ball on pocket on each shot and each shot is considered different. The choice of pocket from the player's previous shot has no effect on the choice of pocket for the current shot for any of the balls, including the eight ball.
It is your opponent's turn.
You were on the 8 and designated the pocket. With the cue ball, you struck your ball first, the 8 ball, which is the 1st requirement for a legal hit. A ball - as in any ball - was pocketed, or hit a rail, which meets the 2nd and final requirement for a legal hit. There was no foul, nor did you pocket your ball. Therefore, your ...
Neither, it is mounted just like it is shown in the diagram. The 0.75" side is mounted to a flat rail and the long side is extends in line with the top of the rail. Like so:
You can see an example of this in the following video series: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEmCmWUNxnw