Skip to main content

Questions tagged [rules]

Questions about the rules of sports, including regulations for particular competitions or formats. Questions must also be tagged for the specific sport or competition.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2 votes
1 answer
64 views

Ball thrown by fielder hits batsman’s helmet while batsman is taking a run

Batsman clips ball to backward square and sets off for a single. Fielder throws the ball aiming at the non-striker’s end to attempt a run-out of the batsman who played the shot. The ball hits the back ...
Gary's user avatar
  • 21
0 votes
2 answers
29 views

Little league baseball 10 yr and under

Batter hits ball. First baseman bobbles ball but catches with bare hand and tags first base with glove (ball remains in bare hand). Is the runner out or safe?
user27141's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
17 views

Is it an assist if the pass deflects off a defender? [closed]

I passed the ball, it deflected of a defender, and our striker scored. Is it my assist? Because they say it is not my assist.
Faraaz Ebrahim's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
28 views

What if a fielder touches or crosses the boundary rope while the ball is still in the air and eventually he takes the catch? Will that be out or six? [duplicate]

What would be the decision? Because he didn't do that intentionally and he comes in the field and takes the catch inside the boundary fairly?
Vikas's user avatar
  • 9
4 votes
0 answers
45 views

What happens when there are dangerous animals in the teeing area?

Rule 16.2 of the rules of golf provides relief from dangerous animals on the course A “dangerous animal condition” exists when a dangerous animal (such as venomous snakes, stinging bees, alligators, ...
Ben Murphy's user avatar
-2 votes
1 answer
24 views

How may earned runs in this situation?

B1-Single B2-FC safe at 1st B1 out at second B3-Walk B4-Walk B5-E5 Safe at third B2, B3, B4 score B6-E2 safe at first B5 scores B7-BB B8-BB B9-FC 2 out B10-FC 3 out
user26623's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
163 views

When does getting 2 yellow cards in the same match not equal red? [duplicate]

Aston Villa managed to win from Lille and place for the half final of the Conference League. There was something odd about this match though: goalie Emiliano Martínez got 2 yellow cards yet was not ...
Mast's user avatar
  • 127
1 vote
1 answer
71 views

Bases loaded, no outs, can first base runner retreat after first base is tagged

Bases are loaded with no outs. Ball hit into play. Runner on first starts to second and stops, first base is tagged while the first base runner is on first base and the batter had not made it to ...
Jamie's user avatar
  • 11
0 votes
1 answer
86 views

Can a goalkeeper be guilty of DOGSO via a six-second-rule offence?

I'm trying to understand whether the letter of the law does allow for a goalkeeper to be potentially sent-off for denying the opposing team an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by breaking the six-...
Labba's user avatar
  • 1,074
0 votes
0 answers
28 views

What happens if a defender blocks a non-ball carrier?

While an offensive player can block a defensive player, the defense can only block or tackle the ball-carrier. What foul (if any) is committed if a defensive player blocks a non-ball carrier?
Phil's user avatar
  • 1
0 votes
1 answer
55 views

Pass Interference Behind Scrimmage

What if a receiver or a running back is behind the line of scrimmage can a defensive player step across the line of scrimmage to attack the player? Does the defensive player need to allow him to touch ...
Phil's user avatar
  • 1
2 votes
0 answers
82 views

In basketball, when the ball hits the bottom of the net, wraps around and goes in the right way,. Does it count? Or violation?

If it hits the bottom of the net and the ball gets caught up and rolls around and goes in down through the rim the correct way, is this a counted basket. To clarify, the ball never goes through the ...
Seamus's user avatar
  • 21
2 votes
1 answer
37 views

A forward pass batted from one receiver multiple times, eventually to another

The quarterback makes a forward pass to the first wide receiver who bats the ball foward, then the same receiver retouches the ball and bats the ball again toward a second receiver. Is it legal? Or ...
Philip's user avatar
  • 21
1 vote
1 answer
93 views

Is a rolling start legal in F1?

In F1, there are jump start. Jump start means that you accelerates your car before all the lights go out. In this scenario, sometimes you get penalty for it, sometimes you don't. But, recently I do ...
KMN's user avatar
  • 129
1 vote
1 answer
96 views

Is the fielding team allowed to place all the fielders in the 30-yard circle?

Is the fielding team allowed to place all the fielders in the 30-yard circle? I know it is allowed in Test cricket as there is nothing like "30-yards" restriction. But is this allowed in ...
Ahmed's user avatar
  • 111
3 votes
1 answer
511 views

Baseball stealing bases

I am new to baseball and quite a few rules are not clear for me. If a player on first base tries to steal second base before the pitcher throws the ball he would have to be “tagged out” because he is ...
Oliver's user avatar
  • 31
2 votes
1 answer
87 views

Is the reception completed if a receiver gets one foot in bounds and then he steps on his own foot instead of getting the other foot down?

As the title explains, if the receiver gets one foot down, then he steps on his own foot and gets out of bounds, is it considered a valid catch or no?
Timothy's user avatar
  • 21
1 vote
1 answer
70 views

What was the original scoring system of Australian rules football?

The Wikipedia article of the Australian Football League (AFL) states: [The VFL] made several innovations early on to entice the public's interest, including [...] the formal establishment of the ...
Mark's user avatar
  • 113
0 votes
1 answer
32 views

Which Pitcher Is Assigned The Run

When a pitcher is removed, he is responsible for the number of runners N that he left on base when exiting. However, is he responsible for the next N runs in that inning? So, consider the following ...
Pistol Pete's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
202 views

Player takes a corner kick which hits the post, and plays the rebound directly, is it legal?

One player takes a corner kick, hits the post and the ball goes back to the same player, without being touched by anyone else. That same player plays the ball immediately. Is it legal? Rule 17 says a ...
Oscar Foley's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
497 views

Who faces the next ball if the striker is run out at the end of an over?

Assume 'A' is playing at striker's end and 'B' is at non striker's end, If 'A' runs for a single run on the last ball of the 5th over and B is run out at the striker's end, who will be on strike on ...
Manish Venkata Sai's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
87 views

NFL rules, overtime, double turnover

NFL overtime rules. Say first possession offense throws an interception but then the defender fumbles trying to make a return, and the offense gets it back. The offense gets a new set of downs due to ...
Michael's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
0 answers
36 views

If the last defender leaves the court, must the raider cross the baulk line?

In the following kabbadi situation: There is one player left on team A Team B player goes for a raid Team A player leaves the court The team B player doesn't cross the baulk line Will the team B ...
Vaibhav kb's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
97 views

Can an out of bounds player down a football in the field of play?

In Steelers/Ravens game on Jan 6, 2024, the Steelers kick returner (Godwin Igwebuike) intentionally went out of bounds and touched a kickoff while lying across the sideline, being both in bounds and ...
Huckleberry's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
74 views

college touchdown rules for endzone catches

If the player catches the football after he runs behind the line at the back of the endzone is it a touchdown? Is he out of bounds?
becky h's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
142 views

What happens if a batter accidentally hits the ball twice?

What happens if a batter accidentally, and as part of once action, hits the ball twice while playing shot? Will it be regarded as a normal shot, no runs or out? If it makes a difference, the double ...
Aman's user avatar
  • 11
4 votes
0 answers
168 views

What constitutes a false start on the offense in American football?

I thought I knew the rules of American NFL football but maybe this is a nuanced rule regarding false starts. I know everyone on the offense needs to be set for 1 second/1 count before snapping. ...
Classified's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
258 views

What happens in rugby if a penalty kick at goal goes into touch

What happens if a team take elect to take a kick at goal and the ball accidentally or intentionally goes into touch? E.g. what if they elect to kick at goal from their own 5m to run down the clock in ...
Guest writer snoozer's user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
59 views

Is it a technical foul to throw the basketball underhand against the wall in disgust with yourself

In my basketball game today, I had a very light foul called against me and out of disappointment with myself I underhand threw the ball and it hit the wall. The throw was kind of more of a toss, or ...
statHacker's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
65 views

Are you allowed to neck stall all the way to the goal? [duplicate]

Are you allowed to lift the football onto your neck using your foot or any part other than your hand, and hold it with your neck, and then walk all the way to the goal and score?
Spectaclol's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
18 views

Eight-ball is sunk with the cue ball in the correct pocket [duplicate]

What happens if I shoot the 8 ball in the correct called pocket and it goes in along with the cue ball? Does the answer change if the cue ball enters the pocket first, on an otherwise legal shot?
user26045's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
430 views

Was this actually a missed horse collar tackle?

The game between the Eagles and the Bills on November 26, 2023 had some very physical moments. One of which involved Hasson Reddick breaking free and delivering a massive tackle on Josh Allen whereby ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
53 views

Can you juggle the ball then punt it at a goalkick

During a goalkick, are you allowed to have the ball start in the goalbox, but then you juggle the ball up into the air and punt it like that? Is that legal?
ada7ke's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
1 answer
219 views

when playing court tennis, is the server's partner allowed to move during the serve

In doubles tennis, is the serving partner allowed to move 3-4 steps in the seconds before and during the serve? The incident is this - the server prepares to serve from the left. His partner stands by ...
bonart's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
1 answer
113 views

Can the goalkeeper play the ball again after missing a drop-kick release?

If the goalkeeper tries to release the ball using a bad drop-kick, but misses the kick and the ball lands outside the penalty area, can they run up and kick it?
dee's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
1 answer
121 views

The ball is played into and made dead in the in-goal area by a defender. What happens next?

The attacking team kick a grubber into the opponent's in-goal area. The defending team does not choose to ground it but choose instead to run it out or kick it out over the dead ball line. What ...
John's user avatar
  • 31
0 votes
0 answers
33 views

Tennis rules question regarding serving out of sequence rule

In the UK, the LTA, basically the UK tennis governing body has a rule: If a player serves out of turn during a standard game, the player who was originally due to serve will serve as soon as the error ...
Angus Comber's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
171 views

Advantage is given after a reckless slide tackle and the affected team scores. Yellow still to be given?

Orange team commits a yellow card slide tackle on blue, but play is allowed on through advantage. The blue team scores. Should the orange player still receive a yellow card for the challenge?
CoderAtWork's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
128 views

How far along the crease can a non-striker stand?

In cricket, how far along the crease is a non-striker allowed to stand to the right or left? Could they stand at the boundary and still be in their ground, or is there a limit to the "width" ...
John's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
0 answers
47 views

Are there any UEFA regulations for longer added time in football?

Recently we can see matches getting longer and longer. It started with Qatar and FIFA asking referees to prolong added time as much as possible, if there were any delays. Apparently more than 9 hours ...
Destroy666's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
91 views

Beachvolleyball: When can you block an opponent beyond the net?

In beachvolleyball, the rules about blocking a ball beyond the net and what is considered an attack hit are a bit unclear to me. Here are the relevant rules: (from https://www.fivb.com/en/...
Leander Moesinger's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
181 views

Can a base runner steal during an appeal play?

Can a player steal a base during an appeal play of another runner missing a bag?
Jojo's user avatar
  • 21
0 votes
0 answers
25 views

Hitting a ball while gaolkeeper is kicking it [duplicate]

In football is it allowed to snatch a ball that the gaolkeeper is kicking which is in mid air
Abdul Kombo's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Why does the infield fly rule only apply if runners are on 1st and 2nd?

The other day something prompted me to review the infield fly rule, which says (emphasis mine): An infield fly is any fair fly ball (not including a line drive or a bunt) which can be caught by an ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
59 views

Is it a good ball or inbound violation?

In basketball, let's say a player is inbounding the ball, tosses the basketball at the referee who’s inside the playing court, and the same player takes the ball back to action afterwards. It is a ...
William's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote
1 answer
44 views

LBW with an edge

If the striker gets an edge that would have hit the wicket but strikes the batsman instead is it leg before wicket?
John Beishline's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
72 views

Is a free kick justified in this situation?

I encountered a frustrating scenario in a soccer match that I would like your opinions about. During a play, the attacking player prepared to take a shot, but I was quicker and managed to kick the ...
Sub0's user avatar
  • 11
5 votes
1 answer
520 views

Can woman tennis players participate in men's tournaments?

In chess it is often informally said that there are men's tournaments and women's tournaments. Actually it is not true. There are open tournaments, in which both men and women can participate. And ...
M. Wind's user avatar
  • 159
3 votes
1 answer
521 views

With the NFL moving the extra point back, is it still possible to fake the kick and go for two?

Under older NFL rules, it was legal, even if unusual, to line up for an extra point kick but make a try for the endzone to score two points. The linked question and answer are from before a ...
Dave's user avatar
  • 153
0 votes
1 answer
73 views

Reserve day in cricket

The recently concluded fourth test in Ashes between England and Australia ended in a draw where England were looking to draw the series , but unfortunately rain spoiled the game which ended in draw.So ...
neo_fan's user avatar
  • 25

1
2 3 4 5
36