Hot answers tagged

9

The IFAB issued a clarifiying statement on the matter. There has been much debate about whether, at a goal kick, the goalkeeper is permitted to ‘lift’ the ball to a team mate to head or chest it back to the goalkeeper to catch and then put into play. The views of technical and refereeing experts about whether this is within the ‘spirit’ of the Laws is ...


8

I can't watch the video either, but yes, the full diameter counts and not where the ball touches the ground. Simply said, if you look straight down on the ball and it still touches the line it is in: One of the rules covering said situation: Law 15, Throw-In (...)when the whole of the ball passes over the touchline, on the ground or in the air. ...


6

I’m assuming that you are talking about the 29-yard field goal Chicago made to end the half. Chicago got to the 11 yard line and decided to kick a field goal. When the field goal play starts, the ball was snapped from the 11 yard line. However, the ball is snapped back to where the kicker is located about 8 yards back, on the 19 yard line. This is ...


6

This is 5 penalty runs and any runs completed prior to the ball striking the helmet and any penalty for wide or no ball. See law 28.3.


6

A try, at least originally, did not affect the score directly, and is only recorded to mark a key aspect of that game: there were very few scoring opportunities at all. What it did was provide that team with an attempt to kick a goal - hence, to try at goal became simply try. In the case at hand, the Rangers earned two tries, scoring one goal, while the ...


6

No. Law 11 Offside, part 3 No offence makes explicit exception: There is no offside offence if a player receives the ball directly from: a goal kick a throw-in a corner kick even if the player is otherwise in an offside position. Once ball is touched by another player, Law 11 applies as normal.


6

No, then you lose the point. According to ITTF's Rules (The International Table Tennis Federation's Handbook 2019 v2): 2.10 A POINT 2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point 2.10.1.11 if an opponent's free hand touches the playing surface;


6

That's correct. Handling the ball a 2nd time with no other player touching it would lead to an indirect free kick. Law 12: An indirect free kick is awarded if a goalkeeper, inside their penalty area, commits any of the following offences: (...) touches the ball with the hands after: releasing it and before it has touched another player ...


6

Yes, the first lap is valid for setting the fastest lap. Before anything else, it's worth mentioning that the starting line and the finishing line are not at the same position because the finishing line must be in front of the race control tower. Since the full grid takes quite some space (specially with these ridiculously long cars we currently have), it ...


5

No - Being passed by an opponent is not an offside offence. Law 11 Offside. ... A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball (except from a deliberate save by any opponent) is not considered to have gained an advantage. (hence not being offside) (Page 100) IFAB (FIFA) - Laws of the Game 2019/20


5

From the 2019 NFL rulebook the requirements of the offensive formation are given in Rule 7, Section 5, Article 1 ARTICLE 1. OFFENSIVE TEAM. The offensive team must be in compliance with the following at the snap: (a) It must have seven or more players on the line (3-19) (b) Eligible receivers must be on both ends of the line, and all of the ...


4

There are quite a few fouls that can happen at the start of a down: False Start: Movement of an offensive player prior to the snap, e.g. a lineman changing their stance or a receiver moving forward. Encroachment: Movement of defensive player into the neutral zone prior to the snap who then touches an opponent or the ball. Neutral Zone Infraction: Movement ...


4

The definition for "Fair Ball" in the MLB rules say: If a fly ball lands in the infield between home and first base, or home and third base, and then bounces to foul territory without touching a player or umpire and before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball; or if the ball settles on foul territory or is touched by a player on foul ...


4

A semantic reading suggests this is the case, however one should not interpret the Laws of the Game in a manner that produces an absurd result. Practical Guidelines for Match Officials [pdf], p. 2: Referees are expected to use common sense and to apply the ‘spirit of the game’ when applying the Laws of the Game Interpreting the word in as during, rather ...


4

Not really, no. Law 3.3, Substitution procedure says if a player who is to be replaced refuses to leave, play continues indicating that the referee has no power to enforce a substitution, and further is required to ignore an unsuccessful attempt rather than wait for the conflict to be resolved. Law 3.7, Extra persons on the field of play says If a ...


4

What either team wants is irrelevant. Time is determined by the referee alone, and the added time exists for a reason: to make up the playing time lost by excessive stoppages. The time should be added on, and played out. A sensible referee may know enough about the competition to be aware of what impact a change to the score might have, but even in the case ...


4

The laws provide for only three different endings to a football match, regardless of how they arise. One team wins The match is drawn The match is abandoned The first two cases are determined from Law 10.2, Winning team, as either one team has scored more goals (that team wins) or neither team has (match is drawn). The competition may require a winning ...


4

One simple answer: VAR. As it is still a new technology, referees are unsure of the extent they should review decisions. In the past, when VAR was not used, referees were free of blame (to some extent) as the decision had to be made on the spot. However, as they are now allowed to review any major decision, they are now being criticized for not using it ...


4

This is covered by MLB rule 5.09(b)(6) From 5.09(b) 5.09(b) Any runner is out when: [...] (6) He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. However, if a following runner is put out on a force play, the force is removed and the runner must ...


4

A five-yard penalty against the defense for illegal hands to the face is an automatic first down. What distance the offence previously needed for the next set is irrelevant. They are granted a new first-and-ten from whatever position they obtain after the penalty is applied.


4

You were correct. The specific rule depends on the exact rulebook your league uses, which you did not state. I’ll show the rules from the (international) WSBC Slow Pitch Softball Playing Rules (2018–2021): 5.10.3 a) A runner is out and the ball remains live when: […] vi. they physically pass a preceding runner before that runner has ...


4

No. Advantage should not be played for an offence which will result in a red card, regardless of what the reason for that red card is, unless there is an immediate goalscoring opportunity for the opponent of the offending player. See Law 12, part 3 of the IFAB Law Of The Game. Emphasis is added. Advantage should not be applied in situations involving ...


4

No - There is no time limit specified in the laws of the game in regards to how quickly a player must leave the field when being substituted. Law 3 The Players ... 3. Substitution procedure the player being substituted: ... must leave by the nearest point on the boundary line unless the referee indicates that the player may leave directly and ...


4

Yes, if it is a defensive player. The rules require three things. SECTION 4 - FIELD GOAL ARTICLE 1. SUCCESSFUL FIELD GOAL A field goal is scored when all of the following conditions are met: (a) The kick must be a placekick or dropkick made by the offense from on or behind the line of scrimmage or from the spot of a fair catch (fair-catch kick). ...


3

A challenge with no timeouts left is not possible. And it will cost the team 15 yards, if the coach tries to do so. Section 2 - Instant Replay A team may not challenge a reviewable play: after the two-minute warning of each half; throughout any overtime period; after committing a foul that delays the next snap; and after exhausting all of ...


3

There are (as of 2018) four ways how a fight can be won: Ippon - An Ippon ("full point") is awarded, when either the opponent is thrown on the back with force, control and speed or when the opponent is fixed in Osae-komi for 20 seconds or when the opponent surrenders after an arm lock or a strangulation. Every Ippon ends the fight immediately. Waza-ari - If ...


3

Rules have changed in the Olympics quite a bit over the years, for example in wrestling in 1996 Olympics there was only one Bronze medalist, while in later years like 2008 there would be two. Some tournaments will have the semifinals losers play for the bronze medal spot, while other tournaments do not and end up with two bronze medalists.


3

As of 2017. First contact rules are: Double contact ok if one motion using anything other than a volley(o/h using fingers), 9.2.2.2 If you DO volley, then a double is never allowed. A momentary catch is allowed but only on a hard driven ball. 9.2.2.4. HDB is determined by speed of attack, reactionary time of def player and depth of play. Did the def player ...


3

In my humble opinion working as Track Marshal for more than a decade, the use of VSC is to keep the leader's (and other participants) gap to the rest of the field and for safety reasons. The VSC was implemented in F1 by the FIA after something similar was used in other series. Specially in Endurance Racing (series like the 24H Series use something called ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible