New answers tagged

8 votes

What happens when a soccer player intentionally catches the ball with their hands in front of the goal?

No, the referee can not award a goal in this case, and the player must be red-carded. Maybe the most famous case of this was the action of Luis Suarez from Uruguay Selection, making exactly what you ...
user avatar
3 votes

What happens when a soccer player intentionally catches the ball with their hands in front of the goal?

To quote the rules Where a player denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by a deliberate handball offence the player is sent off wherever the offence occurs. So, that ...
user avatar
  • 151
14 votes

What happens when a soccer player intentionally catches the ball with their hands in front of the goal?

No. A goal is not awarded automatically. The offensive team is awarded a penalty kick. From the FIFA Laws of the Game: Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match A goal is scored when the whole of ...
user avatar
  • 241
21 votes

What happens when a soccer player intentionally catches the ball with their hands in front of the goal?

You can't award a goal without the ball crossing the line. The correct decision would be a penalty and a red card for that player for denying a clear goal opportunity. Law 12: Sending-off offences A ...
user avatar
  • 5,097
-1 votes

Where should the play restart from an offside?

The correct position for the free kick is where the offence occurs. A common mistake for AR's and referees is to indicate the free kick is where the offside position was. Even if an attacking player ...
user avatar
1 vote

How is the double stepback legal?

The double stepback is legal when used with a zero step, also referred to as a gather step. More details from the NBA below, but a player may take two steps after gathering the dribble. Depending on ...
user avatar
  • 41
0 votes

How is the double stepback legal?

In the end it's all up to the referee watching the play. Many illegal actions are uncalled in basketball as the referee misses them or chooses not to call them. NBA rules state the zero step as: The ...
user avatar
0 votes
Accepted

Can a player touch the line while the ball is landing - Outdoor Volleyball (Beach or Grass)

For FIVB Beach Volleyball, this is covered by 5.1.5 in the 2022 Casebook: What should the referee do if a ball landed inside the line, but obviously the line had been displaced substantially during a ...
user avatar
  • 22.4k
0 votes

Can the referee in a football match request a video review?

At least in the Dutch national league, it's possible for the referee to request a VAR review. Here is a link to the FAQ on the website of the national organisation (in Dutch): Wanneer wordt besloten ...
user avatar
  • 1,685
10 votes
Accepted

Is this a Little League balk?

Baseball Rules Acadamy has a page for little league rules including 8.05 (g) 8.05 - With a runner or runners on base, it is an illegal pitch when (g) the pitcher makes any motion naturally associated ...
user avatar
  • 5,007
0 votes

Why do combat sports use weight classes, but not other sports?

To have more champions. It would be boring to have only one UFC champion, but in basketball there are 15 people on an NBA champion team. Now the UFC can have 4-5 champions per gender. Otherwise the ...
user avatar
  • 199
1 vote

in cricket, is it a no-ball if the batsman advances down the wicket and meets fulltoss ball above his waist

The relevant law is Law 47.1, 41.7 Bowling of dangerous and unfair non-pitching deliveries 41.7.1 Any delivery, which passes or would have passed, without pitching, above waist height of the striker ...
user avatar
  • 1,939
3 votes

in cricket, is it a no-ball if the batsman advances down the wicket and meets fulltoss ball above his waist

They can call a no ball - however unless it is obviously above waist-height I would think it to be unlikely. This is because the above-waist-no-ball call is determined relative to the batter standing ...
user avatar
  • 1,943
2 votes
Accepted

Why do MLB announcers consider the current stadium for ground rule doubles?

It's common for such a ball to be called a "ground rule double", but as you note, it's not something that is a ground rule. As of a few years ago, MLB did create some Universal ground rules ...
user avatar
  • 5,007

Top 50 recent answers are included