New answers tagged

0

Sure, you could pretend to get injured to get a timeout. The standard play clock length makes it mostly pointless though. But because of the possibility, the NFL has a rule stating that players that cause injury timeouts must leave the field for at least one play and under two minutes to go in the half, an injury timeout also causes the team to lose a ...


2

According to rule L.21 of the current Premier League Handbook: At least 75 minutes before the time fixed for the kick-off of a League Match, a representative of each participating Club shall submit a team sheet by such method as approved by the Board containing the following particulars: the shirt numbers and names of its Players (including ...


-2

This is the wrong way to declare final team before, toss in cricket. It should be before 130 minutes, ICC , must not ignore this important point.


2

The whistle was not blown, at all. Play was never stopped. No player was penalised for offside. There was never a free kick. Alisson played the ball legally to Salah in the same way he and every other goalkeeper does regularly.


1

If a player misses any base, it is up to the fielding team to appeal the call to the umpires. If an umpire sees a player miss a base, they do not call them out, it is up to the opposing team to appeal, by stepping on the base while holding the ball, or tagging the player. If the appeal is successful, the runner will be called out and the run will be ...


4

Team officials are cautioned and dismissed (receive yellow and red cards) (in law as of 2019-20) largely for inappropriate behaviour or interference with the game or mistreatment of other people. There is no further specifications of who exactly can be a team official other than that they are, by definition, [a]ny non-player listed on the official team ...


1

Salah was on Liverpools side when Alisson kicked the ball, offside can be when the receiving player is on the other teams half and if the other team doesn't have atleast 2 player behind him but yeah you can read the rules from E. Sommer's comment


2

Salah was not offside. Salah is several metres into his own half at the moment the ball is played by his team-mate, and therefore he is the exact opposite of "well offside when Alisson passed the ball". It does not matter that he entered the opponent's half before the ball, or that he was nearer to the opponent's goal-line than the second-to-last defender ...


2

Looking at the Alisson Becker's pass to Mo Salah here you can see that Salah receives it in Liverpool's own half. We don't have a clear shot of where Salah was at the time of the pass, but given his distance from midfield and the direction he's running, it's clear that he was in Liverpool's half at the time of pass. Offside can only happen when the ...


0

I wasn't entirely sure, so I asked in our local community about this question. Most of it got confirmed, but there's a few more things you can do as a referee in such a situation. Talk to the captain of the team in question and remind them to take the free kick. You can caution the captain, if they're not listening or still refuse to continue the game. ...


2

The current rules of darts, as established by the Darts Regulation Authority, can be found here. The PDC refers to them on their Rules of Darts page. The rules state the following: 5.4.2 A scoring dart is counted by reference to the segment into which the point of the dart enters and remains in or touching the face of the dartboard. Now, what is a ...


0

There is no 'being set' or a 'set position' listed in the rulebook (high school). The defensive player needs to establish a legal guarding position at some point; This means facing the ball handler, with two feet on the ground. [This two feet on the ground may be what some people refer to as being 'set', but a defender does not need to be 'set' at the point ...


-3

Since this is an old question and since this does not currently have a right answer I will summarize this. All rule requirements for players on a field beyond 7 players on the LoS on offense are league mandates and bylaws. Every league has its own bylaws and subrules and these are often not publicly available or they are just "spirits of the rule" where ...


1

In both scenarios only a Field Goal is required to win the game. This is because it is deemed that the receiving team in both instances has had their opportunity to possess the ball. From the 2019 NFL Rulebook: Rule 16 - Section 1 - Article 3 Article 3. Extra Period [...] (e) The opportunity to possess applies only during kicking plays. A ...


0

In this scenario, Batsman B is out - as they have not crossed on this run, his ground is where the wicket has been broken, and so he's out. This is covered by Law 38.3: The batsman out in the circumstances of 38.1 is the one whose ground is at the end where the wicket is put down. See Laws 25.6 (Dismissal and conduct of a batsman and his/her runner) and ...


1

There is no stated purpose for requiring four hash marks along the free throw key. In fact, it is up to the arena's discretion for where exactly they are placed. The only requirement involves how far away the hash marks are from the foul line and the baseline. The NBA rule book states: Four hash marks shall be drawn (2” wide) parallel to the baseline on ...


5

As a Packer fan I remember the situation and recall that at the time this happened there was no rule demanding the coin to actually flip. Here is a video of Dean Blandino VP of officiating at the time explaining the situation, that by rule the coin didn't actually have to flip, but common sense dictated that it should in order for the flip to be fair. And ...


2

ImClarky has the rule established for grounding but this has nothing to do with your question. Simply either Wikipedia or your interpretation of Wikipedia is incorrect. A receiver who steps out of bounds (let's clearly talk about NFL since this varies in high school and college) IS AN ELIGIBLE RECEIVER. A receiver stepping out of bounds does not ...


0

The Laws Of The Game are unambiguous. Law 10.3, Kicks from the penalty mark, says If, after both teams have taken five kicks, the scores are level, kicks continue until one team has scored a goal more than the other from the same number of kicks There is no exception and no other criteria. The game ends when one team has scored more than the other, no ...


1

Yes, they will continue, even if all players have taken a penalty kick. The procedure is described e.g. here on Wikipedia: If after five rounds of kicks the teams have an equal number of successful kicks, additional rounds of one kick each will be used until one team scores and the other misses. This is known as sudden death.


2

Crossing the net with the racket after hitting it on your side is allowed, as laid out in §13.4.2 of the laws of badminton: It shall be a fault, if in play, a player invades an opponent's court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of ...


0

In FIBA it is not a foul to play the ball with an open palm. If you make only contact with the ball there is no foul. If you also make contact with the player before or after contacting the ball a foul situation arises.


2

As long as they are part of the playing XI (including any made concussion substitutes), they should be able to bowl, as there does not appear to be any rules stating against this. From the ICC T20I Playing Conditions*: Only nominated players in the match (including activated concussion replacements) may participate in the Super Over. Should any player (...


5

Going off of the 2019 NFL Rulebook - Rule 8, Section 2: Intentional Grounding: ARTICLE 1. DEFINITION It is a foul for intentional grounding if a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. A realistic chance of completion is defined as a pass that is ...


Top 50 recent answers are included