Hot answers tagged

3

If your opponent's serve is short, then the ball is dead immediately and the rally is over. You don't have a choice to return a short serve. This is unlike a serve that's going long, which you can choose to play before it goes long, provided you do so before it hits the back wall and becomes a dead ball. This is because the ball is still in play until ...


2

The following is a rough, elementary answer. It disregards subtleties such as pronation which are relevant to high level play. The fundamental mechanic behind a tennis serve is that of throwing a ball. In a basic flat serve, your motion is that of throwing a ball forward. In a kick serve, the motion (for a right-handed player) is of throwing a ball to the ...


2

No, you can't let it bounce. No, you don't have to release it from the hand. World Squash rules (effective at January 2019) state in section 5 The Serve, 5.7 A serve is good, if: 5.7.1 the server drops or throws the ball from a hand or racket and strikes it correctly on a first or further attempt before it touches anything else; "Anything else" ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible