8

After the runner is thrown out at first, the runner who was on first is no longer forced anywhere. He must be tagged. There are two reasons why it is best to throw out the lead runner first: If the runner is not forced at the next base, he must be tagged. If you throw out the runner behind the lead runner, he is no longer forced to advance (he could ...


5

I won't quote a rulebook as you haven't specified a ruleset, but the rules are fairly consistent (and well known). Once you specify which rules you play under I can find the rule quote. One example is from the National Softball Association rules, Section 8c. The first runner to occupy a base is entitled to that base legally. The second runner is not ...


5

Generally in both baseball and softball, a pitcher can be asked to remove a white or ball colored piece of clothing that interferes with the batter's ability to see the ball coming in. This is both a safety issue and a competitive advantage issue. If a hitter develops confusion about where the ball is coming from due to the pitcher's clothing they may not ...


5

Ron Roenicke, manager of the Milwaukee Brewers, has brought in an outfielder to be a fifth infielder on numerous "sudden-death" occasions. For example, the game is tied, the Brewers are the road team, and the home team has a man on 3B with one out. If the runner at third is the only runner, then Ron Roenicke typically walks the next batter (and will walk ...


3

In the NCAA, this would depend on the circumstances of the game. If the runner were effectively immaterial to the outcome of the game - either because the winning run is the runner on third, or because more than two runs are needed to tie the game, and it is the bottom of the last inning (seventh or later) - then the stolen base might not be counted due to ...


3

The runner would not be out unless tagged while not on a base. A force at third only exists if there are two runners behind him. Since there is an open base at first, there is no force.


2

Yes it is illegal in all higher levels of baseball. For college games we referred to the PBUC: PBUC manual 1.22 (page 9.) No pitcher shall be allowed to wear a batting glove while pitching. From the mlb website: While not specifically referred to in the Official Rules, MLB regulations prohibit a pitcher from wearing a golf glove under his ...


2

American Softball Association: Ref: http://files.leagueathletics.com/Text/Documents/13338/35721.pdf The American Softball Association does not actively publish their Official Rules - Umpire Edition, but I was able to find a 2005 legacy copy at the ref link above. On Page 84 (PDF page 86): Section 5. DEFENSIVE POSITIONING. A. The pitcher shall ...


2

The answer depends on where that ball landed fair between 1st and 3rd. Once the ball lands and bounces foul (like the question states).. does the ball bounce foul before the ball passes 3rd or 1st base or does the ball bounce foul after it passes 3rd or 1st base? The part of the question However the ball is caught before it hits the ground is irrelevant ...


2

No. Runners can only advance on a "live ball", and as soon as a foul ball hits the ground or goes out of play, it's "dead" until that ball or a replacement is delivered back to the pitcher. The fact that the defense attempted to do so and failed changes nothing; at least until the pitcher has control of the ball it cannot become live.


2

One of the defensive ploys that manager Joe Maddon of the Tampa Bay Rays has employed is to shift the field heavily to right field when left-handed hitters (such as Boston Red Sox's David Ortiz) come to bat. He was one of the first coaches to use to this against Ortiz and now almost every MLB employs a similar defensive shift. (Source) Also last year ...


2

If you have a can of spray paint that can work great and is pretty quick.


2

I don't see anything here where the fact that it's slowpitch softball (rather than MLB baseball) matters. If I were scoring, I'd credit the batter with a triple. No run was scored, so there is no RBI to award to the batter, nor a run to award to the runner on first. There are some situations where the actions of the preceding runner affect the ruling of ...


2

You were correct. The specific rule depends on the exact rulebook your league uses, which you did not state. I’ll show the rules from the (international) WSBC Slow Pitch Softball Playing Rules (2018–2021): 5.10.3 a) A runner is out and the ball remains live when: […] vi. they physically pass a preceding runner before that runner has ...


1

In general, it would be credited as a hit and an RBI. The only question is that you didn't say why the runner was safe. If the runner beat the throw, then it's a hit. If the first baseman threw wildly or the catcher dropped the throw, then you could credit an error instead of hit/RBI. The decision to throw home though would never be counted as an error, ...


1

To follow up on what we did to solve this, we got a roll of white duct tape. The advantage was that it is temporary and can be removed so we weren't "damaging school property".The disadvantage is that it gets shifted or destroyed as people run on it. So for anyone interested, its a relatively cheap and very visible, but temporary solution.


1

If it rolls foul before reaching first or third base, it is foul. If it is fair at that point, and then rolls out, it is fair. You are correct. Here are 3 of 8 regulations for a foul ball Settles or is touched (not caught) on or over foul territory between home and first base or between home and third base. Bounds or rolls past first or third ...


1

Tricky situation. Under baseball rules 7.08 (h) any runner is out when they pass another runner. However the runner never actually passes the other runner. So rule 7.10 (b) applies. In this case the first runner would be called out if a defensive player holding the ball were to tag the runner (who missed the bag) or third base.


1

There is really no "baseball" rule preventing you from doing this. So the umpire will have to decide if the delay in the game is worth it. You cannot have two gloves on the field at once so at some point you will have to run to dugout and come back. As a long time umpire, I would just simply tell you it isn't happening. It is an unnatural delay in the ...


1

You are allowed to switch gloves in the middle of an inning, you just don't see it that much, and in softball leagues it would more be an annoyance in the way of a delay. In softball, you are probably just fine if you can quickly grab it as play is stopped as long as you have it readily available and easy to access. As for your question about pro leagues, ...


1

Major League Baseball: Ref: http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/downloads/y2014/official_baseball_rules.pdf Question 1: On page 32 (PDF page 38): 4.03 When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory. (a) The catcher shall station himself directly back of the plate. He may ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible