18

Actually, yes, it would be your point if it hits your opponent before touching the ground - but only if the ball has not passed the end of the table already. Rule 2.10.01.03: if, after he or she has made a service or a return, the ball touches anything other than the net assembly before being struck by an opponent; and Rule 2.10.01.04: if the ...


13

A let in table tennis is any rally that does not end in a score. The "net service" that you described, where the ball on the service touches the net as it goes over, is one type of let. (All of the circumstances that result in a let are listed in the ITTF Handbook, section 2.09.) By definition, a let does not result in a point scored. Additionally, the ...


13

In professional play - there are rules about how many points (6) must be played in between towel breaks (to wipe off sweat and what not). The "hand rub" is one tactic or ritual used to wipe a sweaty hand off on the table - usually up near the net on a part of the table the ball is not likely to come in contact with. It doesn't necessarily mean their hand is ...


13

Most sources, including the history presented on the website of the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF), agree that the game was developed in the 1880's as a variant to the already-popular lawn tennis, which in turn derives from so-called "real tennis", an earlier game, hailing back to medieval times, whose name is derived from French "Tenez!", ...


12

Yes, you can use your hand to hit the ball, but only if it is your racket hand and below the wrist. A quote of the rules state: It is considered legal to hit the ball with your fingers, or with your racket hand below the wrist, or even any part of the bat.(Law 2.5.7) This means that you could quite legally return the ball by: hitting it with the back of ...


9

There is no difference. Ping pong is simply another name for table tennis. The two terms are used by the vast majority of people interchangably. Historically, the name Ping Pong was a trademarked name owned by Jaques of London and by Parker Brothers in the U.S. Table tennis was the generic name for the sport, and is the official name as recognized by the ...


8

International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) rules in regards to the table go to 2.01 ("The Table"), or playing surface are fairly straightforward and short. A ball is in play if it touches any part of the top of the table. 2.01.02 The playing surface shall not include the vertical sides of the tabletop. Therefore, anything not considered the "top" ...


8

See this page with Table Tennis rules. Specifically there are two rules to be read here. First, a legal serve is defined as: 2.06.03 As the ball is falling the server shall strike it so that it touches first his or her court and then, after passing over or around the net assembly, touches directly the receiver's court; in doubles, the ball shall touch ...


8

No, this is not legal. Quoting from the Table Tennis England Rules of the game: Strike – 2.5.7 – A player strikes the ball if he touches it in play with his racket, held in the hand, or with his racket hand below the wrist. (my emphasis) and Procedure – 2.7.1 – The ball, having been served or returned, shall be struck so that it touches the opponent’s ...


7

Yes, the receiver needs to wait until the ball touches his playing area, otherwise it counts as being obstructed. You can read about it in table tennis rules 2.05.08 A player obstructs the ball if he or she, or anything he or she wears or carries, touches it in play when it is above or travelling towards the playing surface, not having touched his or her ...


7

In doubles you must serve diagonally, but in singles you can serve in any direction. The rules for service are in Section 2.06 of the ITTF Handbook: 2.06 THE SERVICE 2.06.01 Service shall start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server's stationary free hand. 2.06.02 The server shall then project the ball near ...


7

you and I have a lot in common - playing both table tennis and regular tennis. My answer to this question (from years of observing the effects of playing both sports) is both yes and no. Some things are the same (and help across both sports) and some are different and don't help that much. The similarities: Balance - both require good balance and using ...


7

No you can't change paddles mid game, according to the International Table Tennis Federation Handbook for 2017: 3.4.2.4 A racket shall not be replaced during an individual match unless it is accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used; if this happens the damaged racket shall be replaced immediately by another which the player has ...


6

A complete amateur here... I would say, it's far easier to tell the difference between the ball hitting the table or missing it, than between the ball touching a line than missing it. The balls just bounce and fly so quickly. And you judge basically by seeing whether the trajectory has changed (or by hearing). Spotting where the ball was at the moment of ...


6

I realize this is an older question, but I think my answer might be useful to other people with the same or similar questions. Anti-spin rubber can take the spinniest of serves and return it virtually deadened. Several rubber manufacturers create anti-spin rubber. It is designed for exactly what you're looking for, however there are some disadvantages as ...


6

See this question answered previously. The ball cannot be hit by someone's chest - only their hand (that is holding the paddle) can contact the ball. Who wins a point where the ball hits a player in the chest would depend on whether or not the ball had already gone over the edge boundary of the table yet or not. If the person was leaning over the table when ...


6

I've heard reports of amateur players who are ambidextrous swapping a tennis racket from one hand to the other to have two forehands. I don't know about squash and tennis, but in badminton there's no rule banning moving the racket between your left and right hands. The reason is probably because, except perhaps at beginner level, there's no advantage to ...


6

In organized table tennis "masking" your serve is illegal. Your hand must be held flat and open, palm to the ceiling, with the ball resting on it. Then keeping the open palm you must toss the ball up at least 6 inches into the air. The ball must come back down to the same level before you can hit it with the racket. Why is this? Well if I were allowed ...


6

Up until recently, all table tennis balls were made of celluloid. ITTF has mandated a change to a new ball, known as the plastic ball or poly ball. The deadline for the use of the plastic ball was July 1, 2014, and the Belarus Open was the first event to use the plastic ball. From this point on, all World Title and ITTF sanctioned events will use the ...


6

No, then you lose the point. According to ITTF's Rules (The International Table Tennis Federation's Handbook 2019 v2): 2.10 A POINT 2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point 2.10.1.11 if an opponent's free hand touches the playing surface;


5

It is not really possible to lose points that you have earned in a table tennis match. If you foul during a serve, then you don't earn the point that you would have gotten if the serve had been an ace, and your opponent gets a point. Sometimes you might hear this referred to as a point deduction, but it's not really a point deduction, since the server ...


5

Under rule 9 of the source at Killerspin.com: A rally is a let: ... 9.2 If the service is delivered when the receiving player or pair is not ready, provided that neither the receiver nor his partner attempts to strike the ball. This rule is self-explanatory: the rally is not scored. As no point has been awarded, service will not change, so the serving ...


5

No, you even want your serve to be as deceptive as possible so the opponent can't read the spin. The "two-phases-serve" hits the ball in either the first or the second phase of the arm/wrist movement which results in a different spin direction for each phase. If you do it well, the opponent can't read the serve because he can't see in which phase you hit it....


5

As the ITTF rules state : From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry. There's no mention of where your body has to be positioned during ...


4

There are serves called "high-toss" serves. You might want to research on that. But for me as a player, the best way to know a difficult service is to do the "trial-and-error" technique. Try to predict a service and predict a return, but most importantly try to stick in mind the body language of how the opponent does the serve and put it mind. In that way, ...


4

I know from experience that it really depends on what kind of table tennis player you are. If you are always defending you should buy a paddle with almost no padding and no grip. But if you are an aggressive player, you need a paddle with lots of grip and as much padding as possible. If you don't know what kind of player you are then ask at the sports shop ...


4

It depends on how serious of a player you are and how much you plan to be playing - but you could either buy the rubber by itself and resurface your existing paddle (which requires some amount of knowing what you're doing) or you could go down to your nearest sporting goods store and spend somewhere between $40-60 and get a pretty nice paddle with high ...


4

Table tennis serving rules have changed over the years. Under the current ITTF rules, the player to serve first is chosen at random, with the winner of the random draw able to choose to serve first or receive first. Sometimes in casual games, the first serve is chosen by volley, where a "practice" rally is played to determine who serves first. The player ...


4

Ben Miller is right that when a "point deduction" is levied against a player, that player doesn't actually lose a point. Instead, the opposing player is awarded a point. I found an example of this in the women's singles gold medal match for table tennis in the 2012 London Olympic Games. A Huffington Post article mentions three point deductions ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible