Reinstate Monica 2331977
  • Member for 7 years, 10 months
  • Last seen more than a month ago
Why is special case of handball above the shoulder allowed under the revised IFAB rules (2019/2020)?
2 votes

As a bit of background to this wording, I'd argue that raising your arms above your shoulder probably would have been sufficiently covered under the prohibition regarding touching the ball with the ...

View answer
In football, a player is to be cautioned if he 'shows a lack of respect for the game': what does this mean?
Accepted answer
3 votes

It's impossible to give an exhaustive answer here, but here are some of examples of behaviour where a referee may elect to caution a player for unsporting behaviour for shows a lack of respect for the ...

View answer
In football, how should the referee deal with possible offside situations involving attacking/defending players off the field of play?
Accepted answer
4 votes

These two paragraphs are a little unclear, so the only way I can attempt to answer these is with an appeal to authority. I'm a qualified football referee instructor, and this answer is how I would ...

View answer
What happens if a player who has been cautioned during the match gets a second yellow card while kicks from the penalty mark are being taken?
Accepted answer
5 votes

A semantic reading suggests this is the case, however one should not interpret the Laws of the Game in a manner that produces an absurd result. Practical Guidelines for Match Officials [pdf], p. 2: ...

View answer
Committing fouls during celebration time
0 votes

With two very specific exceptions (cf. Law 14 and Law 15), a free kick (or penalty kick) cannot be awarded for an offence committed with the ball out of play. Therefore, despite any misbehaviour by ...

View answer
Ball goes out of bounds inside box
Accepted answer
6 votes

This is a retake. The ball was never put back into play. Law 16 - The Goal Kick, Section 1 - Procedure: The ball is in play when it leaves the penalty area Law 9 - The Ball In and Out of ...

View answer
What do referees say to footballers after they score?
Accepted answer
8 votes

Based on my experience, there are three reasons I move towards the goalscorer and their entourage after a goal is scored: to confirm the number of the goalscorer (not required by the Laws, but may be ...

View answer
Brutal accident against goalkeeper (Andrada vs Dedé) must he have been sent off (as he was)
2 votes

The Laws of the Game are completely clear on this, and they define careless, reckless, and excessive force. These are used to determine the punishment for an illegal tackle or challenge i.e. free kick ...

View answer
Multiple yellow cards at a single free kick for encroachment
Accepted answer
2 votes

There are two possible interpretations of your question. Nij's answer refers to repeated offences by different players; I will deal with the simultaneous offending interpretation. There is no answer ...

View answer
If a goalkeeper is substituted during kicks from the penalty mark, can they later be substituted on again?
4 votes

No, the goalkeeper cannot be substituted back on. A goalkeeper may only be replaced by a substitute (or an excluded player if one team had more players than the other at any stage of the kicks) if ...

View answer
Should Jorgensen have been sent off for his DOGSO foul in Croatia-Denmark (2018 FIFA World Cup)?
2 votes

This is simply an editorial oversight. The full text of the sending-off offence you are referring up until the current (2018/19) edition of the Laws was: denying an obvious goal-scoring ...

View answer
Is there a fixed duration for celebration in football
Accepted answer
3 votes

There are two questions here. gdrt's answer covers all aspects of the first, so I will simply summarise before moving onto the second. Firstly: is there a fixed duration for goal celebration? No. ...

View answer
What's the protocol when an opponent is injured and your team has posession?
Accepted answer
1 votes

You'll be unlikely to find a quote for this, so I'll draw upon personal experience as a player and referee. First, let's clarify the referee's role in stopping play for injuries. Law 5 - The Referee,...

View answer
Does VAR allow referees to ignore unintentional fouls?
4 votes

This question is based on two false premises: that an unintentional handball is a foul; and that the referee, Pitana, came to the conclusion that Perisic's handling was unintentional, yet still ...

View answer
Hasn't Kasper Schmeichel broke the rules when saving Modrić's penalty during the World Cup 2018, Round of 16 match between Croatia and Denmark?
Accepted answer
6 votes

There are likely two possible reasons this technical breach of the Laws was not penalised. The offence was so minor that the referee was unable to detect it. The referee applied his discretion under ...

View answer
Is it legal to use a trick involving another player to pass the ball to the keeper without kicking it?
Accepted answer
3 votes

What you have described it not a trick, nor is it illegal. The first player has simply played an aerial pass to another defender. This is not a deliberate trick to circumvent the Law. The second ...

View answer
In football, what happens when a team commits an offence for which play need not be stopped, and then scores a goal immediately after?
Accepted answer
5 votes

Neither of the two suggested restarts are correct. The correct restart is a kick-off. The Laws would explicitly state that a goal was to be disallowed for either of these offences, just as it does ...

View answer
What if goal happens whilst a penalty VAR review is in process?
Accepted answer
5 votes

Nij's answer sums up the general principles and the correct outcome. I will attempt to answers based strictly on the Laws. Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match, Section 1 - Goal Scored: A ...

View answer
What is the upside in allowing players to argue with referees in football?
1 votes

It is already illegal for players to protest a decision (dissent), or use offensive, insulting and/or abusive language or gestures. Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct, Section 3 - Disciplinary Action: ...

View answer
Can a player decline advantage after a foul?
Accepted answer
2 votes

The other answers quote the relevant section of the Laws. It's not entirely clear from the Laws that advantage is a discretionary decision, but the following from IFAB's practical guidelines [pdf] ...

View answer
Foul in soccer chasing a free ball
2 votes

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct, Section 1 - Direct Free Kick: A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following offences: ... holds an opponent Law 12 - Fouls ...

View answer
An attempt to shield the ball ends in one player kicking another's leg. Is it is a foul and what is the result?
Accepted answer
5 votes

Here are the relevant sections of the Laws of The Game: Law 5 - The Referee, Section 3 - Powers and Duties: The referee: ... punishes the more serious offence, in terms of sanction, restart, ...

View answer
How many yellow cards before player is suspended in Copa del Rey
3 votes

Accumulating three cautions in the Copa del Rey will see a player suspended for one match. On page 5 of RFEF 2017/18 Circular No 5 [pdf]: Tratándose del Campeonato de España/Copa de S.M el Rey, ...

View answer
Can football players be penalised for an action against a teammate that is normally a foul if done to the opponent?
5 votes

No, a player cannot be penalised for an action against a teammate that is normally (only) a foul if done to the opponent. Most free kick offences listed in Law 12 under direct free kicks and indirect ...

View answer
What counts as a deliberate save for offside?
3 votes

This is not a deliberate save. Law 11 - Offside, Section 2 - Offside Offence continues on to state that: A ‘save’ is when a player stops, or attempts to stop, a ball which is going into or very ...

View answer
Is a match forfeited if a player refuses to leave after being sent off?
3 votes

This situation is covered in Law 5 - The Referee, Section 3 - Powers and Duties: The referee: ... stops, suspends or abandons the match for any offences or because of outside interference If a sent-...

View answer
Second Yellow, Forgot Red, Can it be given later?
2 votes

The Laws do not specifically account for this type of incident, as technically speaking, it should not occur. If it does occur, the referee needs to send-off the player as soon as they realise, even ...

View answer
Tie breaker rules during penalty shootouts, when the lighting is poor
1 votes

You state that the referee declared this match a draw, but this is not possible. Matches only proceed to extra time and kicks from the penalty mark if a draw is not an available outcome. Law 10 - ...

View answer
Can a player receive a direct red card after receiving the second yellow card?
6 votes

gdrt's answer provides an excellent summary of what occurred in the incident you provided as an example. In general, a player cannot receive multiple "red cards" in the same match. The ...

View answer
When can a goalkeeper take the ball into their hands?
5 votes

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct, Section 2 - Indirect Free Kick outlines when a goalkeeper may not deliberately handle the ball1 in their own penalty area. An indirect free kick is awarded if a ...

View answer