According to the USSF's 'Advice to Referees', section 12.25:
12.25 RESTARTS FOR MISCONDUCT
a. Offenses on the field of play If play is stopped solely to deal with misconduct committed on the field by a player, the proper restart is an indirect free kick taken from the location of the misconduct*. If play is stopped for a foul in addition to misconduct, the restart is determined by the foul. The restart cannot be a direct free kick unless the reason for the stoppage included a direct free kick foul. If misconduct occurs while play is stopped, the restart is determined by the original reason for the stoppage. See also the table at Advice 5.19
Does this mean that every restart after a caution or send off is an indirect free kick?