Is there a point in a T20 match in which the losing team is mathematically eliminated (ie, no possibility of winning the match), and if so does the game end at that point?

For example, Team A bats first, and scores 150-4 in their 20 overs. Team B's innings starts, and in the first 19 overs, they only score 110-4. In the remaining over, even if every bowl resulted in a 6, Team B would only end up with 146-4. So does the match end at the point when Team B can no longer mathematically win the game, or do they play out all 20 overs (or 10 wickets), regardless of the current score?

(Or do I misunderstand the rules and it's possible to score more than 36 runs in an over, somehow?)

1 Answer 1


Yes, you misunderstand the rules. Firstly, wides and no-balls mean there can be more than 6 balls in an over, so more than 36 can and has been scored in an over. Secondly, more than 6 runs can be scored from a ball in the case of overthrows or the like. The third possibility is penalty runs against the fielding side for various offences, most commonly the ball hitting a helmet on the field of play.

The other point to consider is that a lot of tournaments worry about net run rate or the like as a tie-breaker.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.