Questions about the Canadian Football League (CFL)

The Canadian Football is played similarly to the American version. However, there are some notable rule differences across these leagues such as:

  • 3 downs a possession in CFL vs 4 downs in NFL
  • Field size
  • End zone size
  • Shape and size of the football
  • definition of a catch
  • Receivers' movement prior to snap
  • Position of the upright
  • etc

For more information between the NFL and the CFL see What are the main differences between regulations of the NFL and the CFL?

CFL has 9 teams currently:

  1. Calgary Stampeders
  2. Edmonton Eskimos
  3. Saskatchewan Roughriders
  4. BC Lions
  5. Montreal Alouettes
  6. Hamilton Tiger-Cats
  7. Toronto Argonauts
  8. Winnipeg Blue Bombers
  9. Ottawa Redbalcks

The CFL trophy is known as the Grey Cup.