3

Let me know what happens to the batsman in this situation.

The spin bowler made an magic delivery so that it hit the stumps and a bail is pushed out of its position (the grooves), but didn't fall to the ground, rather it balanced on top of one of the stumps.

I know it's an extremely weird and rare scenario, but I'm too curious to know the decision of the umpire.

7

Not out. Quoting from Law 30.1(a):

The striker is out Bowled if his wicket is put down by a ball delivered by the bowler

and Law 28.1:

(a) The wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps

[...]

(b) The disturbance of a bail, whether temporary or not, shall not constitute its complete removal from the top of the stumps

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.