2

When the faceoff stat is collected in the NHL, can there be a draw?

0

It is always possible to define a faceoff winner, because the definition of a faceoff win is simply whichever team first has possession of the puck (a brief possession is sufficient, anything longer than a deflection). That must happen following a faceoff, so you can always declare a winner.

| improve this answer | |
  • Unfortunately I couldn't find a source for this - nobody explains the stat officially. – Joe Nov 18 '15 at 5:03
  • As a edge case, what would happen if there was a faceoff with (say) 0.1s left and the puck went off down the ice without anyone touching it? – Philip Kendall Nov 18 '15 at 14:10
  • @PhilipKendall My feeling is that it would still be awarded as a win to the team whose side it went to - but like I said, I can't find any evidence of an official rule. It may simply be up to the official scorer for the game (and hockey is like basketball - the official scorer tends to have a huge home team bias...) – Joe Nov 18 '15 at 14:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.