A player was awarded two free throws on shooting foul. They miss the first and the ball bounces back to them before the referee can grab it.

The player takes a practice shot and then wants the referee to hand him the ball to take a "real" second free throw.

Is this a violation?

1 Answer 1


The rules from FIBA says:

43.2.3. The free-throw shooter shall:

• Take a position behind the free-throw line and inside the semi-circle.

• Use any method to shoot a free throw in such a way that the ball enters the basket from above or the ball touches the ring.

• Release the ball within 5 seconds after it is placed at his disposal by the official.

• Not touch the free-throw line or enter the restricted area until the ball has entered the basket or has touched the ring.

• Not fake a free throw

I don't see any of this leaving room for a "practice" throw, as you can't even fake a free throw. And you have only 5 seconds, so there is not really time for a practice throw any way.

  • 1
    From my reading, the 5 second count starts only once the ball has been given to the player by an official - if the official never touches it, then I don't see how this can apply.
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Feb 6, 2017 at 21:39
  • @PhilipKendall While that is true the rule is formulated as what is allowed, and throwing a ball in that manner is not mentioned in any way.
    – Linkan
    Commented Feb 6, 2017 at 21:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.