• the bowler has bowls the ball,
  • the batsmen misses the ball,
  • the ball goes to the wicket-keeper,
  • it touches the leg of the keeper,
  • and finally it touches the stump,

is that a stumping or not?

  • 1
    Was the batsman out of their ground when the bails were permanently removed?
    – Philip Kendall
    Mar 19, 2018 at 20:25

1 Answer 1


If the batsman was out of his crease, then yes, that is a stumping. Law 39.2 states:

39.2 Ball rebounding from wicket-keeper’s person

If the wicket is put down by the ball, it shall be regarded as having been put down by the wicket-keeper if the ball:

rebounds on to the stumps from any part of the wicket-keeper’s person or equipment

or has been kicked or thrown on to the stumps by the wicket-keeper.

Note the word any. Since it hit his leg before going onto the stumps, it's a stumping.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.