3

I was playing in a basketball league that follows NCAA rules. A scenario happened where we players and referees did not know the exact answer and cannot find a specific rule explanation online.

My teammate threw an oop pass from beyond the 3 point line to me. I went to jump to catch it but was below the hoop. The defender jumped with me and tipped it in; I had no contact with the ball.

Would it be considered a 3 pointer since I did not touch it and the pass came beyond the 3 point line, or would it be ruled a 2 since it was a pass and the defender accidentally tipped it in?

1

I don't think the fact that the pass originated from beyond the 3-point line matters much here. The pass couldn't have been on target as a 3-point try or the opponent would have been called for goaltending.

So it's just someone making an own goal, which is always worth 2 points. That falls under the NCAA rules Rule 5, Section 1, Article 4a

a. When a player scores a field goal in the opponent’s basket, it shall count two points for the opponent regardless of the location on the playing court from where it was released. Such a field goal shall not be credited to a player in the scorebook but shall be indicated with a footnote.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.