1

the batsman hits the ball with the bat and then we have two situation: A: the ball hits the non-striker and goes into boundary airborne. B: the ball hits the striker and goes into boundary airborne. What is this? Boundary six or four? Thanks!

1 Answer 1

1

In both cases this would be signaled as a six as the ball itself has not touched the ground. It is a similar situation to a fielder getting a hand to it on the boundary, but the ball still going over.

That said, if you've hit the non-striker and it's still gone for six, you may want to call an ambulance as well. ;)

1
  • I believe you're correct, but are you able to provide a reference to the Laws of Cricket which support this? 19.7.1 specifically mentions fielders but not members of the batting team.
    – Philip Kendall
    Jan 12 at 12:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.