scenario: one out, runners on first and third. Fly to deep centre; fielder makes an exceptional catch for second out, and makes a huge throw to double up the runner from first who had gone too far, thinking the ball would not be caught. Is that a force play at first that negates the fact that the runner from third has crossed the plate before the out at first.

  • 2
    Sounds like baseball, but to be sure you should always include the sport you're talking about in the tags.
    – dly
    Commented Jun 9, 2019 at 12:20

1 Answer 1


The run scores as this is not a force out. Instead it is a time play - in other words, the third out (at first base in this example) must occur before the runner touches the plate to prevent the score. (The Steve the Ump web site addresses the situation specifically.)

  • TBH, I thought the run wouldn't count, but in trying to verify that, I found several web sites that corrected that mistaken belief. You learn something new every day. :-)
    – GreenMatt
    Commented Jun 9, 2019 at 19:10
  • Stack Exchange strongly prefers answers which don't need us to go to another website. Could you summarise in your own words the reasoning directly in your answer please?
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Jun 9, 2019 at 19:24
  • @PhilipKendall: Forgive me, but there's not a lot to explain here (it's basically a yes or no question), and I thought I had explained adequately for someone who is familiar with baseball. I've expanded a bit, hopefully adequately.
    – GreenMatt
    Commented Jun 9, 2019 at 20:08
  • Rules 5.09(b)(5) and 5.09(c)(1) call this an appeal play.
    – chepner
    Commented Jul 10, 2019 at 13:16
  • @chepner: The wording in those rule subsections is confusing, but I don't think this is an appeal play as laid out in the question. An appeal is when the defensive team tags the base after the play is over (but before the next pitch is made).
    – GreenMatt
    Commented Jul 10, 2019 at 14:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.