I wonder how the 'touchdown' is defined in American football. Specifically, I would like to know whether the ball should complete go through the end line which is 6 feet wide.

In soccer, the ball should complete go through the end line to be considered a goal. Is it the same as in American football? Should the ball touch the ground, or is it okay the ball stay in the air?

  • 2
    Is there a specific aspect of Rule 11, Section 2 you are not sure about? Or is it simply not something you have looked at?
    – Nij
    Commented Dec 20, 2022 at 1:19

1 Answer 1


The ball does not have to be completely gone through the plane of the goal line. According to the NFL Official Rulebook as of 2022. Rule 11 Scoring, Section 2 - Touchdown, the ball is "on", "above", or behine the plane of the goald line to be considered a touchdown.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.