In 8-Ball Pool, when you are on the black ball, if you foul (eg. don't hit the black ball), the other player doesn't get 2 shots because they are on the black ball.

What stops both the players from just tapping the ball every time? They are not at a loss if they do, because the other player only gets 1 shot.


By Pool, I take you are referring to a game of 8-ball (there are many variations of billiards games). As for your question, there are a few different ways that a player can foul on the eight ball. When fouling, the advantage is that the next player has ball in hand, allowing them to place the cue ball into a favorable position. So I would gladly have the player just tap the eight ball, as it increases the likelihood of leaving the cue ball in a favorable position for me to win the game.

Take a look at the rules for 8-ball to get some of the other specifics regarding fouls, etc. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eight-ball

  • Yes, I mean the 8 ball game. But, when you are on the black ball, I thought the rule was that there is no such thing as a foul - you can do anything and the other player won't get 2 shots. Is that wrong? – ᔕᖺᘎᕊ Jul 25 '14 at 14:47
  • @ṧнʊß What I've heard is if a player is on the 8-ball (the black ball) and they scratch (foul), then they automatically lose. Also, I've never heard of a player being allowed a second shot if they didn't sink a ball on the first shot. – pacoverflow Jul 25 '14 at 19:40
  • I agree, those seem like different rules then I have ever played with as well (I've always played that scratching on the 8 ball is an automatic loss as well). Perhaps it was some rule variation, or some home rules, that you played as you can most certainly foul with only the 8-ball left. Take a look at the wiki entry I provided, and then search from there for 'official' rules if you want the full scoop. – SlidingNGliding Jul 25 '14 at 20:41

BCA standard (and European Standard) rules for 8 ball pool state that

  • After hitting any ball, the cue ball or the object ball or another ball contacted after contacting the right ball (something has to) has to touch a cushion/rail.
  • In case the rule above was violated, it results in a foul and the opponent is awarded a Ball in Hand

    In case the 8 ball is stuck on a cushion/rail, after contacting the ball, something has to touch a DIFFERENT cushion/rail. It cannot be considered legal that you tap a frozen ball without contacting an entirely different rail/cushion.

protected by Philip Kendall Apr 24 '17 at 18:56

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.