7

When I designate the pocket I'm putting the 8-ball and I am successful and then follow it in with the cue ball - do I still win?

3 Answers 3

8

According to Wikipedia, a player will win if

The opposing player commits any foul, including scratching the cue ball into a pocket, or knocking it off the table, in the course of a shot that pockets the 8 ball

Therefore, you would lose because you scratch the cue ball into the pocket while pocketing the 8 ball.

Wikipedia Link

1

In one shot pool, played with 2 1/4 inch balls on American type square pocketed pool table, the rule is: re-spot the black and incoming player has ball in hand that to say "put anywhere on the table" with one shot only.

When playing European/UK/Australia/South Africa "2 shot pool" on basically a mini snooker table with a rounded shape to the pockets, often times played with reds and yellow balls, the rule is: loss of game on any foul whilst potting the black ball.

0

IBA rules : loss of game

A shooter loses the game if he commits any of the following infractions:

...

  1. Cue ball scratches or is a “jumped ball” while shooting the 8-ball.

UPA Tour rules : loss of game

7.2 Scratch

Pocketing the cue ball or driving it off the table is a ball in hand foul. Scratching on the 8-ball is not a loss of game as long as the 8-ball was not pocketed.

APA rules : loss of game

  1. HOW TO WIN A GAME

8-Ball

...

e. Your opponent fouls the cue ball and pockets the 8-ball.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.