After pocketing the last ball, the cue ball bounces back to pot the 8 ball, leaving my opponent with 4 object balls. In this situation, who is considered to be the winner? Is it the the opponent or me, because he is remaining with 4 balls not potted.


In standard BCA ruling (Billiards Congress of America), this would be a loss. If at any time you pocket the 8-ball, before the rest of your 7 object balls (solids/stripes), or during the shot on your last object ball, the game would end. The cue-ball must come to a stop after your last object ball has dropped before you can take a legal shot at the 8-ball.

In your scenario, your score would be 7 (one for each object ball dropped), your opponents score would be 10. Winner always receives 10pts, even if they have object balls left on table (i.e. you accidentally drop the 8-ball early)

  • I've never heard of that points system in 8 ball, where does it come from? – timseal Oct 9 '18 at 13:04

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.