If a pitcher fake a throw to a base is he considered disengaged? So technically then could he fake a throw to first base?

1 Answer 1


Faking a throw is illegal when touching the plate ("engaged"). 6.02(a)(2):

If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when:

(2) The pitcher, while touching his plate, feints a throw to first or third base and fails to complete the throw;

However, a pitcher not touching the plate is a fielder and can do any normal fielder thing, including feint throws. So once a pitcher has stepped off (i.e., his back foot is no longer on the plate), sure, he can do whatever he wants.

Regardless, I think the answer to the question you intend is effectively no; if the pitcher, while engaged, fakes a throw to a base, that is a balk. The pitcher would have to remove his foot from the plate (at which point no sane runner would be going anywhere other than back to the bag).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.