Is it in the rules to run byes on a wide ball which the batsman leaves? So if I leave a wide ball, can I then run byes off it if the keeper fumbles, or will the byes not count?

1 Answer 1


They are explicitly not byes; quoting from Law 23.1 "Byes":

If the ball, delivered by the bowler, not being a Wide, passes the striker without touching his/her bat or person, any runs completed by the batters from that delivery, or a boundary allowance, shall be credited as Byes to the batting side.

(my emphasis) However, note that doesn't mean you can't run; Law 22.5 "Ball not dead" makes this very clear:

The ball does not become dead on the call of Wide ball.

just that they will be counted as wides, not byes. This makes a difference only to the statistics for the bowler and the wicketkeeper, nobody else really cares.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.