0

What if a receiver or a running back is behind the line of scrimmage can a defensive player step across the line of scrimmage to attack the player? Does the defensive player need to allow him to touch the ball before he makes contact or can he immediately collide with him regardless of whether the ball has been thrown or not?

1 Answer 1

0

NFL - No foul for contact behind the line of scrimmage. Contact which is otherwise legal is allowed up to 1 yard past the line of scrimmage. I think (but am not 100% certain) that this is true in NFHS and NCAA as well.

1
  • 1
    Welcome to Sports SE - to make this a stronger answer, are you able to reference the specific rule in the NFL Rulebook which supports this?
    – Philip Kendall
    Mar 29 at 20:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.