Watching a match now, the forward was running toward the goal line, halfway toward the corner, protecting the ball, looking for a corner kick.

He was obviously fouled by the defender, pushed into the ball and it resulted in a goal kick.

I am wondering, if a foul was called (it was outside of the box), where would the free kick be placed?

What further muddies the water on this for me, I watched an old women's International match recently where a foul was called in the 6m box. Instead of a penalty kick, a free kick was placed on the 18m line. This is why I'm wondering if referees would have discretion to place a free kick elsewhere in the first example.

Here is the video queued up to that women's match.


1 Answer 1


The free kick awarded for a offence anywhere on the field is taken from the place where the foul occurred. It doesn't matter how close to the corner that is.

There are some exceptions,

  • a direct free kick to the attack inside the penalty area is a penalty kick

  • an indirect free kick to the attack inside the goal area is taken on the long edge of the goal area closest to where the offence occurred

  • a free kick to the defence inside the goal area may be taken anywhere inside the goal area

  • free kicks for offences off the field or involving non-players may have other placements according to Laws 3 or 12

Your confusion regarding USA-BRA (W) is easily resolved. The free kick is awarded for playing in a dangerous manner (PIADM). This is an offence which does not involve physical contact, and which is sanctioned with an indirect free kick.

It does not become a penalty kick (see first bullet point) but because it occurred inside the goal area, it is moved back to the line (see second bullet point).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.